The Charles Bassett Teaching Award was established by the Class of 1993 to honor a distinguished member of the Colby faculty. It is presented annually, and a faculty member may receive the award only once. Chosen by a vote of the senior class, the recipient presents what is known as the Last Lecture following spring semester exams, and his or her name is added to a plaque in the foyer of the Lovejoy Building.

Video: 2016 Recipient Assistant Professor of Geology Bruce Rueger delivers the Last Lecture



Bassett Award Winners
  • 2020 Cheryl Townsend Gilkes, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Professor of Sociology and African-American Studies
  • 2019 Nikky-Guninder Singh, Crawford Family Professor of Religion
  • 2018 Travis Reynolds, Associate Professor of Environmental Studies
  • 2017 Nathan Chan, Assistant Professor of Economics
  • 2016 Bruce Rueger, Assistant Professor of Geology
  • 2015 John Turner, Associate Professor of History
  • 2014 Guilain Denoeux, Professor of Government
  • 2013 Peter Harris, Zacamy Professor of English
  • 2012 Lisa Arellano, Assistant Professor of American Studies and of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
  • 2011 James Behuniak Jr., Assistant Professor of Philosophy
  • 2010 Chandra Bhimull, Assistant Professor of Anthropology and of African-American Studies
  • 2009 Andrea Tilden, Merrill Associate Professor of Biology
  • 2008 Mark Tappan, Professor of Education
  • 2007 Phyllis Mannocchi, Professor of English
  • 2006 Jason Opal, Assistant Professor of History
  • 2005 David Simon, Jetté Professor of Art
  • 2004 Jonathan White, Assistant Professor of Sociology
  • 2003 Jeffrey Kasser, Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
  • 2002 Anthony Corrado, Professor of Government, and
    Dasan Thamattoor, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
  • 2001 Margaret McFadden, Assistant Professor of American Studies
  • 2000 Jennifer Boylan, Associate Professor of English
  • 1999 Laurie Osborne, Associate Professor of English
  • 1998 Robert LaFleur, Assistant Professor of History
  • 1997 Paul Greenwood, Associate Professor of Biology
  • 1996 David Findlay, Associate Professor of Economics
  • 1995 Robert Weisbrot, Christian A. Johnson Distinguished Professor of History
  • 1994 Cedric Bryant, Assistant Professor of English
  • 1993 Charlie Bassett, Dana Professor of American Studies and of English