DepartmentsArtCreative WritingMuesum of ArtMusicTheater & Dance
The second symphony concert of Colby’s bicentennial year, conducted by Eric Thomas, features works written during the inaugural years of various Colby presidents. In 1892, the year Charles Ives wrote his Variations on America, Beniah Longley Whitman became Colby’s 11th president. Aaron Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man, written in 1942, had its debut the year Julius Seelye Bixler was appointed Colby’s 16th president. Bixler, an amateur cellist, was responsible for establishing the Colby Community Symphony Orchestra. The music for Alfred Hitchcock’s classic film Psycho was composed by Bernard Hermann in 1960, the year Robert E.L. Strider became president. An endowed fund established in Strider’s name supports one of the concerts on the Music at Colby series each year. Also included, Francesco Geminiani’s La Folia and works by Eric Thomas and Mark Tipton.
Hail to the Presidents!
Colby Symphony Orchestra, Eric Thomas, conductor
December 1, 7:30 p.m.