2015-2016

Thursday, March 3, 6:00 p.m. Miller 14 (co-sponsored)
Hans Lucht, TBA

Wednesday, March 9 4:00 p.m. Diamond 122 Sponsored by GC, CAH, Provost’s office
Poet Dwayne Reginald Betts – Confronting Our Incarceration Epidemic: Race, Mercy and a Failed Concept of Justice

Wednesday, March 9 7:00 p.m. Diamond Ostrove Sponsored by GC, CAH, Provost’s office
Poet Dwayne Reginald Betts – Bastards of the Reagan Era: An Elegy for a City

Tuesday, March 29 TBA,
Gregg Jamison – TBA

Monday, April 4, 7:00 p.m. Diamond Ostrove
Dr. Ellen Sharp – Rethinking Conservation: How to Protect the Monarch Butterfly Migration

Monday, April 11, 7:00 p.m. Diamond 122 (co-sponsored)
Joelle Bahloul – “A Jewish Street in Paris: Rue des Rosiers in the Early 21st Century”

Wednesday, April 13 Diamond Atrium ANTHROPOLOGY MAJORS SENIOR DINNER
With Trustee Karlene Burell-McRae (AY ’94) and Jeff and Beth Green

Wednesday, April 20
Anila Daulitzai, Brown University will speak on “Talibanization”

Thursday, May 12 7:00 p.m. Colby Museum of Art
Film screening of short documentary films by students on the Global Maine Cluster

 

SPRING 2014

Thursday, February 27, 2014, 7:00 p.m., Lorimer Chapel
S.H.O.U.T! Keynote Speaker: Geoffrey Canada

Saturday, March 1, 2014, 3:00 p.m., Page Commons Room
Keynote: Jack Halberstam – BRIDGE Conference

Tuesday, March 4, 2014, 7:00 p.m.  Diamond / 142
Frances Moore Lappe – Andrew W. Mellon Fellow in Environmental Studies

** Monday, March 10, 4PM – Diam. 122
Prof. Robert Samet, “The Republic of Victims: Crime and Denunciation in Venezuela”

Tuesday, March 11, 2014, 7:00 p.m. Diamond / 122
David Aquila “Quil” Lawrence, NPR “Life After War: America’s Veterans Today”

Monday, March 31, 2014, 4:00 p.m. Lovejoy / 215
Prof. Christine Yano, “Pink Globalization”

Tues., April 1, 7pm, Ostrove Auditorium
‘Granito: How to Nail a Dictator’
The story of how former Guatemalan dictator Efriam Rios Montt was brought to trial for genocide.  Film screening and conversation with Kate Doyle

** Wed., April 9, 7pm , Diam. 122
Prof. Lara Deeb, “Piety and Pleasure: Youth Negotiations of Leisure and Morality in South Beirut”

Thurs., April 10, 7pm TBA
Global Studies Hunt Lecture — Prof. Evan Fraser, Department of Geography, University of Guelph
“Population Growth, High Energy Prices, Climate Change and the Challenge of Feeding Nine Billion”

Check out past Anthropology Events!