Athletics ImageWATERVILLE, Maine — Sarah Evans (Cohasset, Mass.) earned New England Small College Athletic Conference Field Hockey All-Conference First Team honors and teammate Megan Fortier (Falmouth, Maine) made the all-league second team for the second straight year Wednesday.

Evans leads all of NCAA Division III and the NESCAC in save percentage at .860 and ranks 15th nationally and fourth in the conference in goals against average (1.12). Evans also is fifth in the league in saves per game (6.46) and is the lone conference goalie to be in the top five in all three goaltender categories.
Evans played 105 minutes in her first year with the Mules, but was in net for 940 minutes in the 2013 season. She recorded four shutouts and made 92 saves.
Fortier led the Mules and was fifth in the NESCAC in scoring with 13 goals and three assists for 29 points. She also was third in the conference in goals per game (0.93). Fortier has led Colby in scoring her first two years and heads into her junior year next fall with 49 career points (20 goals, 9 assists).
Fortier also plays on the women's ice hockey team at Colby and led the Mules in scoring as a first-year. Women's hockey opens the 2013-14 season Friday.
2013 NESCAC Field Hockey All-Conference Teams
Player of the Year:Catherine Fowler, Middlebury; Defensive Player of the Year: Meredith Rowe, Middlebury; Rookie of the Year: Mettler Growney, Bowdoin; Coach of the Year: Carol Knerr, Amherst
First Team:Sarah Evans, Colby, GK, So.; Rachel Kennedy, Bowdoin, F, So.; Katie Riley, Bowdoin, F, Sr.; Krista Zsitvay, Amherst, F, Sr.; Emily Cannon, Tufts, M, Sr.; Catherine Fowler, Middlebury, M, Jr.; Blair Ingraham, Wesleyan, M, Sr.; Olivia King, Bowdoin, M, Sr.; Alex Philie, Amherst, M, Sr.; Sophie Doering, Trinity, D, Jr.; Meredith Rowe, Middlebury, D, Sr.
Second Team: Rachel Tannenbaum, Amherst, GK, Jr.;Megan Fortier, Colby, F, So.;Emily Jablonski, Williams, F, Sr.; Eva Rosencrans, Hamilton, F, Fy.; Madeline Tank, Amherst, F, Jr.; Elinore O'Brien, Middlebury, M, Sr.; Brittany Norfleet, Tufts, M, Jr.; Dakota Sikes-Keilp, Tufts, M, So.; Stephanie Wan, Tufts, M, Sr.; Andrea Hoisington, Connecticut College, D, Sr.; Alexandra Jamison, Tufts, D, So.