Fortier earns All-Region field hockey honor

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: November 15, 2012
Athletics Preview Photos

Megan Fortier (Dustin Satloff Photography)

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Megan Fortier (Falmouth/Falmouth, Maine), who led Colby College in scoring in her first year with the Mules, was named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association New England West Region Second Team on Friday.

Fortier had already earned New England Small College Athletic Conference Second Team honors last week.
Fortier led the Mules in scoring with seven goals and six assists for 20 points. She also had a team-best two game-winning goals for Colby (6-8 overall). Fortier had three goals and three assists in NESCAC play.
Fortier's offense helped the Mules finish fourth in the NESCAC in goals per game (2.50) this year. Colby's top six scorers will return for the 2013 season.
National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA)
Division III All-Region Teams
New England West Region
First Team
Emily Cannon, Tufts; Maggie Chapman, Tufts; Hadley Duncan, Trinity; Shelby Farland, Bridgewater State; Cat Fowler, Middlebury; Charlotte Gardiner, Middlebury; Lauren Greer, Middlebury; Kasey Matoin, Bowdoin; Katie McMahon, Amherst; Alex Phillie, Amherst; Brooke Phinney, Bowdoin; Katie Riley, Bowdoin; Lia Sagerman, Tufts; Cathleen Smith, Bowdoin; Margaret Souther, Middlebury; Rachel Tannebaum, Amherst
Second Team
Erica Allen, UMass-Dartmouth; Alexandra Bonavita, Elms; Taryn Cardiel, UMass-Dartmouth; Aimee Donaruma, Keene State; Sarah Duncan, Trinity; Chantal Ferguson, Wesleyan; Megan Fortier, Colby; Rachel Gerhardt, Tufts; Andrea Hoisington, Connecticut College; Olivia King, Bowdoin; Ashley McLaren, Wesleyan; Ellie O'Brien, Middlebury; Tori Redding, Wesleyan; Haley Thompson, Trinity; Liza Wetzel, Tufts; Krista Zsitvay, Amherst

Related Links: