Golfer Martin on All-NESCAC team for second time

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: October 2, 2012

WATERVILLE, Maine -- Taggie Martin (New Canaan, Conn.) became the first Colby College golfer since 2000 to earn New England Small College Athletic Conference honors for a second time after making the all-conference second team Tuesday.
Martin, who finished in 11th place at the NESCAC Qualifier on Saturday and Sunday, made the first team last year after finishing sixth in the 2011 tourney.
Harry Smith (2009, second team), Gus Thompson (2007, first team), and Jake Hobart (2001, second team) were the other Colby golfers to earn All-NESCAC honors since 2000.
Martin shot a 78 on Saturday and closed with a 75 on Sunday for a two-day total of 153 at Hickory Ridge Golf Club, a course near Amherst College.
2012 NESCAC Golf All-Conference Teams
Player of the Year: Greg Palmer, Trinity; Rookie of the Year: Matt Yung, Hamilton; Coach of the Year: Rick Pohle, Williams
First Team: Nick Buenaventura, Trinity, sophomore; William Burchill, Trinity, sophomore; Nicholas Koh, Amherst, junior; Greg Palmer, Trinity, sophomore; Mac Pivirotto, Hamilton, sophomore; William Prince, Middlebury, senior
Second Team: Ross Bowen, Williams, junior; Dylan Dethier, Williams, junior; Jake Goldenring, Williams, sophomore; Don Hunt, Trinity, sophomore; Taggie Martin, Colby, senior; Matt McCarron, Williams, junior; Jack Palley, Trinity, senior; Greg Scott, Hamilton, junior; Matt Hung, Hamilton, first-year

Related Links: