Improving men's cross country ready for season

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: September 7, 2012
WATERVILLE, Maine --- The Colby College men's cross country team continued to make strides a year ago after having the best finish at the New England Small College Athletic Conference Championships since 2006.
Head coach Jared Beers and the Mules hope for more improvement in 2012. Colby opens the season with a class relay meet at home against Bates College on Saturday at 11 a.m.
Senior captain Brian Desmond (Ann Arbor, Mich.) was the top runner for the Mules at the start of last season, but sophomore Ben Lester (Medfield, Mass.) came on strong at the end of the year. Lester had Colby's best finish at 54th to help the Mules finish 10th at the conference meet. Colby also went on to take 14th place in the NCAA New England Region meet.
Sophomore Charlie Coffman (Cohasset, Mass.) took 57th at the NESCAC meet and was 26th at the Maine State Championships. Will McCarthy (Monroe, Conn.), another sophomore, was the top Mule finisher at the state meet in taking 25th place and was 60th and third among the Mules at the league championships. Jeff Hale (Waterville, Maine) also had a solid first season by taking 28th at states and 68th at the conference meet.
Seniors Luke Doherty Munro (Hudson, Mass.), who was 31st at the state meet, Tom Letourneau (Dayton, Maine), John Williams (Berkeley, Calif.), and Nick Papanastassiou (Stow, Mass.) will all be key components of the team. Julio Suastegui (Los Angeles, Calif.), another senior, is injured at the start of the season.
Junior Dylan Nisky (Hong Kong, China) and classmates Kevin Clarke (Carlisle, Mass.), Chris Greenlee (Westminster, Mass.), Paco DeFrancis (Hanover, N.H.), and Matt White (Wellesley, Mass.) will look to make an impact.
Will Hayes (Glencoe, Ill.), Nick D'Agostino (Jamaica Plain, Mass.), Nolan Dumont (Lincoln, Maine), Seth Gilbane (Providence, R.I.), Dan Hyszczak (Andover, Mass.), Sean Madigan (Mars, Pa.), David White (Hampton Falls, N.H.) are other sophomores looking to contribute. Andrew Newcomb (Andover, Mass.) will start the season on the injury list.
First-year runners Chase Brown (Boothbay, Maine), Andrew Estrada (Riverside, R.I.), and Guilo Del Piccolo (Basalt, Colo.) should make an immediate impact along with Fabio Castiblanco (Leonia, N.J.), Chris Millman (East Greenwich, R.I.), Henson Orser (New Canaan, Conn.), and Stefan Sandreuter (Cumberland, Maine).

Related Links: