Men's Outdoor Track—2008-09 Season Overview

2009 Season Outlook
The Colby College men's outdoor track and field team heads into the 2009 season with half the relay team that broke one of the program's oldest records a year ago.

Ben Ossoff '10 and Chris DeRoo '09 each return after joining forces with Dan Moss '08 and Bob Glotfelty '08 in breaking a 25-year-old school record in the 3,200-meter relay at the Open New England Championships. The four finished in a time of 7:40.93 to break the old school mark of 7:41.0. Colby had to settle for second place that day, narrowly losing to Williams (7:40.86).  

The Colby track and field team will get the luxury of running on a brand-new track this season and will compete in a home event at the new Harold Alfond Stadium on April 11.  

DeRoo also had a big moment in winning the 400-meter run with a time of 49.47 at the New England Division III Championships. In the same meet, he also teamed up again with Ossoff, Moss, and Glotfelty for a fifth in the 1,600 relay. Ossoff also took an 11th in the 800 meters (1:55.38) at the meet.  

The Mules performed well at the State of Maine Championships. Despite having less numbers on the roster than the other squads, Colby scored more than 100 points. Ossoff won the 800 (1:57.85) and DeRoo took the 400 (49.05) to win state titles. John Hall '09 also returns this season after taking third in the 3,000 steeplechase at the state meet.  

At the NESCAC meet, Ossoff had a time of 1:55.90 in taking 10th in the 800. Andy Maguire '11 was 14th in the steeplechase in his first league meet.  

David Lowe '11 also returns for the Mules in the hurdle races. He won the 400 hurdles at a four-team meet at Colby's Alfond Track a year ago.  

The Mules will have 10 first-year athletes on the roster this season.

2008 Season Outlook
The Colby men's outdoor track and field team loses NCAA participant Ian London and distance runner Dan Vassallo from last year's squad, but the Mules still have talent back in 2008.

Dan Moss won the 800-meter run at last year's State of Maine Championship and took the 600 meter title at the indoor meet in 2008. He took eighth place in the 800 at the New England Division III meet.

Bob Glotfelty was a winner at the state meet in the 3,000 steeplechase. Meanwhile, the 1,600 relay squad of Moss, Chris DeRoo, John Waller, and Ben Ossoff won a title as well. DeRoo and Ossoff will both run in the mid-distance races.

Chris Copeland has shown promise in the indoor season races and should be strong in the sprints for head coach Jared Beers.

Camden Bucsko will throw the shot put and hammer for the Mules.