Deveau, Jennings, McIvor, Knutson named to team

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: May 15, 2012
Athletics Preview Photos

All-New England honorees

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College's Ian Deveau (Portsmouth, R.I.), John Jennings (Danvers, Mass.), Jonathan McIvor (Sudbury, Mass.), and Bjorn Knutson (Bloomington, Minn.) all earned New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) All-New England honors on Tuesday.
Devau was named to the first team as a junior midfielder. The other players earned second team honors, with Jennings at attacker, McIvor as a midfielder, and Knutson at short-stick defensive midfielder.
Deveau, who has already earned New England Small College Athletic Conference First Team honors this spring, was the NEILA Rookie of the Year two years ago and made the second team during his sophomore season.
Deveau led the Mules (9-5 overall) in scoring with 25 goals and 18 assists for 43 points. He also had a team-best five man-up goals. Deveau, who has 63 goals and 64 assists for 127 career points, finished ninth in the NESCAC in points, seventh in assists, tied for 11th in goals, was tied for third in game-winning goals (3), and was tied for eighth in man-up goals.
Jennings, a junior, was tied for second in points this season with 33 goals and two assists for 35 points. He ranks fourth in the NESCAC in goals per game at 2.36 is tied for 15th in points per game (2.50), ranks third in conference goals (23 in 10 games), and is tied for 12th in conference points (25). Jennings, despite missing eight games during his first year at Colby, has 88 goals and nine assists for 97 career points.

McIvor scored 20 goals and dished 10 assists for 30 points. The senior midfielder had 34 goals and 18 assists for 52 career points. He ranked 10th in conference goals (17 in 10 games) and was tied for 12th with Jennings in conference points (25). McIvor was one of six seniors to help the Mules make the NESCAC playoffs in all four years after Colby had not been to the league playoffs since 2002.

Knutson was fourth in the NESCAC in ground balls (91), third in ground balls per game (6.50), and sixth in face-off percentage (.547). He ranked third in conference games in ground balls (61) and also was tied for first for Colby in caused turnovers (13). Knutson finished with two goals on just five shots and added four assists.

2012 NEILA Division III All-New England Team
NEILA Awards
Player of the Year: Kevin McCormick, Tufts. Rookie of the Year: Cole Bailey, Tufts. Coach of the Year: Tom McCabe, Bowdoin.
First Team
Attack: Beau Wood, Tufts; Rob Nogueras, Trinity; Pat White, Western New England (WNEC). Midfielders: Kevin McCormick, Tufts; Ian Deveau, Colby; Mark Flibotte, Bowdoin; James Reardon, WNEC; Jon Froats, Wesleyan; John Lyons, Connecticut College. Long Stick Midfielder: Trevor Scott, WNEC. Face-off: Mac Jackson, Bates. Short Stick Defensive Midfielder: Corey Johnson, WNEC. Defense: Matt Egan, Bowdoin; Matt Callahan, Tufts; Aaron Harris, WNEC. Goalie: Grant Covington, Wesleyan.
Second Team
Attack: Devin Acton, Amherst; Cole Bailey, Tufts; John Jennings, Colby. Midfield: Shane Ferguson, Springfield; Mike Delia, Springfield. Nick Shaheen, Trinity. Jonathan McIvor, Colby; Mike Devine, Eastern Connecticut; Peter Bowers, Tufts. Long Stick Midfielder: Danny Gold, Amherst. Short Stick Defensive Midfielder: Bjorn Knutson, Colby. Defense: Kevin Helm, Bates; Tim Cimini, Springfield; Dan Alles, Tufts. Goalie: Brewster Knowlton, WNEC.

Related Links: