Four men's lacrosse players on NEILA preseason team

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: February 27, 2013

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College men's lacrosse players Ian Deveau (Portsmouth, R.I.), John Jennings (Danvers, Mass.), Bjorn Knutson (Bloomington, Minn.), and Peter Willauer (Duxbury, Mass.) were each named to the All-New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) Division III Preseason Team.

Deveau made the NEILA first team as a midfielder, while the other three players were selected as honorable mention.

Deveau, an All-American last year as a junior, led the Mules in scoring with 25 goals and 18 assists for 43 points. He also had five of Colby's 12 man-up goals. Deveau, who earned All-NESCAC and All-New England honors for a second straight year, has 63 goals and 64 assists for 127 career points. He was the NEILA, NESCAC, and ECAC Rookie of the Year as a first-year.

Jennings, a senior, was second on the Mules in scoring with 33 goals and two assists for 35 points despite seeing heavy defensive coverage in front of the goal. He broke Colby's single-season goal scoring record with 43 as a sophomore. Despite missing half of his first season at Colby with an injury, Jennings has 88 goals and nine assists for 97 career points.

Knutson stepped in as the main face-off man as a junior and won 55 percent (140-for-256) of his draws while leading the team in groundballs (91) and caused turnovers (tied with 13). He also had two goals and four assists for six points. Knutson has won 57 percent of his face-offs (174-for-305) and has 189 groundballs in his career. A short-stick defender, he also has four goals and eight assists in three years.

Willauer made an immediate impact as a first-year last season, starting all 14 games on defense and finishing with two goals and one assist. A key component to Colby in clears, Willauer was first in groundballs (34) of players not taking face-offs.

Colby is ninth in the latest NEILA poll heading into its season and home opener against Amherst College on Saturday, March 9, at noon. The Mules were 9-5 overall last year and were 6-0 on Bill Alfond Field.

All-New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association

Division III Preseason Teams

First team

Attackers: Beau Wood, Tufts; Devin Acton, Amherst; Cole Bailey, Tufts

Midfielders: Ian Deveau, Colby; Pete Bowers, Tufts; Nick Shaheen, Trinity

Defenders: Matt Callahan, Tufts; Sam Gardner, Tufts; Aaron Harris, Western New England

Goalie: (tie) Patton Watkins, Tufts; Robert Maher, Springfield

Long-stick midfielder: Danny Gold, Amherst; Short-stick defense: Sam Diss, Tufts; Face-off specialist: Sam Ozycz, Endicott

Second team

Attackers: Ryon Lynch, Springfield; Rob Nogueras, Trinity; Billy Bergner, Bowdoin

Midfielders: James Reardon, Western New England; John Lyons, Connecticut College; Mike Devine, Eastern Connecticut

Defenders: Zach Driscoll, Middlebury; Breck Merritt, Endicott; John Heard, Tufts

Goalie: Chris Williamson, Bowdoin

Long-stick midfielder: Darric White, Middlebury; Short-stick defense: Corey Johnson, Western New England; Face-off specialist: Brenden Fernandez, Springfield

Honorable mention

Attackers: John Jennings, Colby; Billy McNamara, Wheaton; Nick Pinciaro, Endicott

Midfielders: Ben Saperstein, Tufts; Tyler Fresen, Eastern Connecticut; Harry Cotter, Endicott; Nick Jez, Western New England

Defenders: Max Rosner, Bowdoin; Peter Willauer, Colby; Billy Chapman, Middlebury

Goalie: Brandon Body, Western New England

Long-stick midfielder: Kane Delaney, Tufts; Short-stick defense: Bjorn Knutson, Colby; Face-off specialist: Mac Roy Jackson, Bates

Related Links: