Men's swim team ready for season opener

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: November 16, 2012

WATERVILLE, Maine --- The Colby College men's swimming and diving team heads into the 2012-13 season with an opening meet at Amherst College on Saturday at 2 p.m.

The Mules finished in eighth place at the New England Small College Athletic Conference meet a year ago, but senior breaststroke racer Mason Roberts was the big loss from that squad. He had three top-six finishes in the breaststroke races at the NESCAC meet and made the NCAA championship meet.

Colby, despite the loss of Roberts, will still be strong in the breaststroke races for head coach Tom Burton. Paul Wennberg (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) was seventh in the 50 breaststroke and 11th in the 100 at the NESCAC meet last year. Adam Spierer (Bedford, N.H.) took 16th in the league meet in the 100 breaststroke and was 21st in both the 50 and 200 races.

Sophomore Vincent Galea (Bronx, N.Y.) had a strong first season at Colby last year. He was 17th and won the 'C' final in the 100 freestyle at the conference meet. Galea also was part of a school record in the 200 medley relay (1:33.93) at the NESCAC meet.

Ryan Bachur (North Reading, Mass.), Wennberg, and Galea also were part of a ninth-place finish and a 'B' final win in the 400 freestyle relay at the league meet. Bachur will race in the butterfly and freestyle events.

Senior captain Jack Mauel (Houston, Texas) took 15th place at the conference meet in both the 50 and 100 butterfly races. 

John Madeira (Cumberland, Maine) will swim in the backstroke races along with Anders Peterson (Winnetka, Ill.), Brendan Tschaen (Holmdel, N.J.), and Erik Holmsen (Oakland, Maine). Madeira also will compete in the individual medley, while the other three also can race in the freestyle events.

James Hootsmans (Glastonbury, Conn.) returns in the sprint freestyle races, Colin McLaughlin (Farmington, Conn.) will compete in the breaststroke races along with teammate Shelby O'Neill (Corfu, N.Y.), Ben Lewis (Haverhill, Mass.) is in the middle distance freestyle events, and Noah VanValkenburg (West Bloomfield, Mich.) will go in the freestyle. 

First-year swimmers Jack Bjorn (Hampden, Maine), Nick Kim (Diamond Bar, Calif.), Tyler Lewtan (Weston, Mass.), and Ryan Weeks (Framingham, Mass.) will look to make an impact right away.