Kone in 60 dash final, Nisky misses cut

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 9, 2012
Athletics Preview Photos

Dom Kone

GRINNELL, Iowa --- Colby College's Dom Kone (Bucksport, Maine) took his first step toward a national title by qualifying for Saturday's championship final with a school-record time of 6.78 in the 60-meter dash on Friday night at the NCAA Division III Men's Indoor Track and Field Championships at Grinnell College.
Colby teammate Dylan Nisky (Hong Kong, China) ran in an 800 meter prelim, but did not qualify for Saturday's championship final.
Kone will race in the championship final at 5:35 p.m. (EST) and the meet is Webcast at http://www.ncaa.com/liveschedule/2012/03/10
Kone, running in the second heat of the night in the preliminary races, finished in second place in his heat behind Guilford College's Johnathan Smith. The 6.76 clocking by Smith broke the Charles Benson Bear Recreation and Athletic Center facility record. Kone also was below the old facility record time of 6.81, set by McMurry's Kenneth Turner earlier this season. Turner won the first heat with a time of 6.80. Kone's old school record of 6.80 was set last weekend in winning the ECAC Championships.
Kone appeared to get off to a slow start, but quickly got out in front along with Smith for a commanding 1-2 finish. Greenville's Bruce Gray was third in the second heat with a 6.89.
Kone ran in the 55 dash last year at the national meet and posted the fastest time of the year in the meet during a preliminary race. However, he pulled a hamstring in the championship final and finished eighth. By making Saturday's eight-man championship final, Kone already has secured All-American honors for a second straight year.
Nisky finished in a time of 1:56.19 after running a 1:52.93 earlier this season. He also got off to a slow start and had trouble making up any ground during the four laps. Nisky tried to make a move to the outside on the third lap, but fell back shortly after.
Mike Hutton of St. Thomas (Minn.) had the best 800 time of the night with a 1:51.39. Amherst College's Ben Scheetz was the defending champion in the race and led the second heat for the first two laps. However, he appeared to suffer an injury to his leg and missed out on qualifying for the final. Scheetz has a 1:48.03 time earlier this season.
Men 60 Meter Dash
2 heats; advance winner plus next 6 best to final.                        
   Stadium: # 6.81 2012      Kenneth Turner, McMurry                 
  Name                  Year School               Prelims H#        
1 Johnathan Smith         SO Guilford                # 6.76Q 2        
2 Kenneth Turner          JR McMurry                # 6.80Q 1        
3 Dominique Kone          JR Colby                   # 6.78q 2        
4 Victor Banjo            FR Wittenberg               6.86q 1        
5 Bruce Gray              FR Greenville                6.89q 2        
6 Sean Bernstein          JR Oneonta                 6.90q 2        
7 Phito Gondre            FR UMass Dartmouth   6.91q 1        
8 Davivorn Dowe           SR Dubuque                6.92q 2        
9 Chris Medina            SR TCNJ                      6.99 2        
10 Alex Koenen             FR Wis.-La Crosse       7.00 1        
11 Ackeme Brown            JR Ramapo                7.02 1        
12 Nick Bee                SO Wis.-Whitewater        7.03 1        
-- Cody Jerabek            JR St. Thomas (Minn.)    DNS 2
Men 800 Meter Run
2 Heats. Advance top 2 from each heat plus next best 4 to final           
IN=Lanes 1-3; OUT=Lanes 4-6                                               
Two-turn stagger                                                          
DIII Meet: $ 1:49.73 2002      Matt Groose, Wis.-Oshkosh             
   Stadium: # 1:55.27 2011      Derek Bischak, Rose-Hulman            
  Name                  Year School               Prelims            
1 Mike Hutton             JR St. Thomas (Minn.)    # 1:51.39Q           
2 Jake Waterman           JR Wabash                # 1:52.61Q           
3 Robert Willett          JR Birmingham-Southern # 1:51.69Q           
4 Jeff Marvel             JR Tufts                           # 1:53.52Q           
5 Steve Ambrosi           SR Moravian                 # 1:53.22q           
6 Luke Vance              SO Wheaton (Ill.)           # 1:53.38q           
7 Tim Schoch              SR Haverford                 # 1:53.62q           
8 Ben Manning             JR Southern Maine       # 1:53.75q           
9 Matt Melton             SO Amherst                   # 1:54.79            
10 Drew Clark              SR Principia                    # 1:54.99            
11 Dylan Nisky             SO Colby                      1:56.19            
12 Ben Scheetz             SR Amherst                 1:56.41            
13 Samuel Parker           FR MIT                       1:57.86  

Related Links: