Bunker earns national honor from USILA

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: May 25, 2011

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College men's lacrosse player Craig Bunker (Topsfield, Mass.) secured his third All-American honor Tuesday, but the awards keep piling up after earning the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) Division III Specialty Player of the Year honor Wednesday.

Bunker was one of seven positional players in NCAA Division III lacrosse to be honored by USILA. The Specialty Player award was given to Bunker for his outstanding face-off and groundball abilities as a short-stick midfielder.

Bunker was the first-ever Colby men's lacrosse player to earn first team national honors and is the only Mule to be honored as an All-American on three occasions. He was named to the second team as a junior and was an honorable mention selection in 2009.

Bunker, a two-year captain, also has been named this month to the first team by the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) and the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC).

Bunker finished the year ranked fourth nationally in face-off percentage (.714, 205-for-287) and 17th in groundballs per game (7.69). Bunker finished first in the NESCAC in face-off percentage, first in groundballs (123 total), and first in groundballs per game.

Bunker, who won more than 70 percent of his face-offs over his final two years, finished his career with 412 groundballs and won nearly 66 percent of his face-offs (689-1,045). He also had seven goals and eight assists.

Bunker helped the Mules earn a NESCAC playoff spot for a third straight year and go 9-7 overall. He was Colby's Co-Millett Award winner for contributing the most to Colby athletics in their four years.

Iroquois National Award: Outstanding Player of the Year:  Jimmy Dailey, Stevenson

Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award: Outstanding Attackman: D.J. Hessler, Tufts

Fran McCall Award: Outstanding Midfielder: Chris DeLuca, Cortland

William C. Stiles Memorial Award: Outstanding Defensive Player: Evan Douglas, Stevenson

Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award: Outstanding Goalie: Johnny Rodriguez, Salisbury

Long Pole Midfielder of the Year: M. J. Kiekebelt, RIT

Specialty Player: Craig Bunker, Colby

Related Links: