Choice again named Maine Player of the Year

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 15, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Adam Choice

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College's Adam Choice (Newport, R.I. ) made it three Player of the Year honors in a row for the Maine Men's Basketball Coaches and Writers Association (MMBCWA) All-State Team on Monday.

Choice, a senior guard/forward, was selected as the Maine State Division III Player of the Year for the third consecutive season by a vote of the Division III coaches in the state. Choice also was named to the first team along with Colby teammate Mike Russell (Wellesley, Mass.).

Choice has already been selected to the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) first team for a third straight year, while Russell was on the league second team for the first time.

Choice finished his career ranked eighth all-time in scoring for Colby with 1,534 points. He also had 654 rebounds, 185 assists, 134 steals, and 95 blocked shots during his four years.

In the latest NESCAC statistics, Choice ranks tied for second in scoring (18.3), eighth in assists (3.4), ninth in blocked shots (1.04), tied for ninth in steals (1.16), and 10th in rebounding (6.7). He is the only NESCAC men's basketball player since the 2002-03 season to finish the regular season in the top 10 in scoring, rebounding, assists, steals, and blocked shots.

Russell formed a tough 1-2 duo with Choice this season as the Mules finished 19-6 and made the NESCAC semifinals. He heads into his senior season with 918 points and 638 rebounds in his Colby career.

Russell ranks first in the NESCAC in rebounding (9.9), fourth in field goal percentage (.586), and 12th in scoring (14.1). Russell had 14 double-double games in scoring and rebounding in the Mules' 25 contests.

Maine Men's Basketball Coaches and Writers Association All-State Team

Player of the Year: Adam Choice, Colby; Rookie of the Year: Jarrad DeVaughn, Thomas; Coach of the Year: Dick Meader, Maine-Farmington

First Team: Adam Choice, Colby; Mike Russell, Colby; Eric Taylor, Maine-Farmington; Brian Ellis, Bates; Mark Phillips, Bowdoin

Second Team: Josh Jones, Husson; Andrew Duncanson, Thomas; Will Hanley, Bowdoin; Brock Bradford, Husson; Ray Eatmon, St. Joseph's

All-Rookie Team: Jarrad DeVaughn, Thomas; Francisco Alicea, Thomas; Mark Brust, Bates; Ben Russell, Maine Maritime; Phil Leighton, Husson


Related Links: