Choice on a second All-America team

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 24, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Adam Choice

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College men's basketball player Adam Choice (St. George's School/Newport, R.I.) earned his second All-America honor after being named to the fourth team.

A total of 25 players were selected to four five-man teams and five more to an honorable mention squad. Choice was selected as a third team All-American by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) last week.

Choice just played in the NABC Division III Senior All-Star Game this past Saturday in Salem, Va., at the NCAA Division III Final Four. He had six points, five rebounds, and one assist in 20 minutes of play in helping the East squad to a 109-107 overtime win in the first-ever game.

Since the Mules ended the season at 19-6, Choice also has been selected to the NABC Northeast Region First Team, the All-Northeast Region First Team, the Maine State Division III Player of the Year for the third straight season, the NESCAC First Team, and the ECAC New England Third Team.

Choice finished his career ranked eighth all-time in scoring for Colby with 1,534 points. He also had 654 rebounds, 185 assists, 134 steals, and 95 blocked shots during his four years.

In the latest NESCAC statistics, Choice ranks tied for second in scoring (18.3), eighth in assists (3.4), ninth in blocked shots (1.04), tied for ninth in steals (1.16), and 10th in rebounding (6.7). Men's Basketball All-American Teams

Coach of the Year: Bob Semling, UW-Stevens Point; Player of the Year: Steve Djurickovic, Carthage; Rookie of the Year: Derek Raridon, North Central (Ill.)

First Team: Steve Djurickovic, Carthage, junior guard; Sean Wallis, Washington U., senior guard; Blake Schultz, Williams, senior forward; Todd Phillips, Eastern Mennonite, junior forward; Tyler Sanborn, Guilford, senior center

Second Team: Corey McAdam, Nazareth, senior guard; Darnell Braswell, DeSales, senior guard; D.J. Marsh, UW-Oshkosh, senior forward; Tim McCrary, Wheaton (Ill.), sophomore forward; Marcel Esonwune, York (N.Y.), junior center

Third Team: John Hoch, Carroll, senior guard; Aaron Thompson, Washington U., senior guard; Richard Jean-Baptiste, Brooklyn, senior forward; James McNally, Franklin & Marshall, junior forward; Greg Hernandez, Maryville (Tenn.), senior center

Fourth Team; James Wang, Williams, sophomore guard; Ian Franks, Wooster, junior guard; Adam Choice, Colby, senior forward; Dustin Mitchell, UW-Whitewater, senior center; Nate Montgomery, Whitworth, senior center

Honorable Mention: Miguel Ley, Central, senior guard; Ben Panner, Wheaton (Ill.), senior guard; Kevin Misevicius, Cabrini, senior forward; Kyle Meyer, Ohio Northern, senior forward; Michael McClary, Olivet, junior center


Related Links: