Choice named Maine State Player of Year

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 26, 2008
WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College sophomore forward Adam Choice (St. Georges School/Newport, R.I.) was honored as the Maine State Player of the Year by the Maine Men's Basketball Coaches and Writers Association on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Colby teammate Michael Russell (Wellesley/Wellesley, Mass.) was named to the Maine All-State Rookie Team. The head coaches from the 13 Maine colleges playing Division III basketball voted on the awards.

Choice led the Mules in scoring (18.0), rebounding (7.8), and blocked shots (1.36). He also averaged 1.44 steals per game and shot nearly 79 percent (146-for-185) from the foul line. Choice finished in a tie for second among Maine State players in scoring, was second in blocks, and ninth in free throw percentage.

In NESCAC statistics, Choice was second in scoring, tied for third in blocked shots, sixth in rebounding, and 10th in steals. Choice and Amherst College's Fletcher Walters were the only NESCAC players to be in the top 10 of all four categories. Choice, who made the NESCAC second team, was the only player of sophomore standing or younger to be honored on the all-conference team.

Choice has 685 points, 347 rebounds, 75 steals, and 49 blocked shots in two years at Colby (13-12).

Russell averaged 9.8 points and was fourth on the Mules in scoring. He ranked third in the NESCAC in offensive rebounds (3.44 per game), was 10th in rebounding (6.8), and 12th in field goal percentage (.526).

Maine Men's Basketball Coaches and Writers Association

Player of the Year: Adam Choice, Colby; Rookie of the Year: Andrew Duncanson, Thomas; Coach of the Year:  Tim Gilbride, Bowdoin

First Team

Adam Choice, Colby; Jamaal Caterina, Southern Maine; Bryan Wholey, Bates; Elbie Murphy, St. Joseph's; Andrew Hippert, Bowdoin

Second Team

Jordan Fliegel, Bowdoin; Johnnie Jefferson, U. New England; Neil Stewart, Maine Maritime; Kyle Jackson, Bowdoin; Brock Bradford, Husson

All-Rookie Team

Andrew Duncanson, Thomas; Brian Ellis, Bates; Michael Russell, Colby; Chris Davis, St. Joseph's; Andrew Dean, Maine-Farmington

Related Links: