Crews compete at New Hampshire meet

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: October 14, 2006
PEMBROKE, N.H. --- The Colby College women's varsity eight finished in fourth place in the open eight race at the New Hampshire Rowing Championships on Saturday.

The team of Justine Scott, Mariah Hudnut, Austin Phillips, Sasha Bartels, Annie Feutz, Carrie Curtis, Pam Dudley, Linnea Rooke and Val Friedman had a time of 16 minutes, 30 seconds in the 22-boat field. University of Vermont placed first in 16:22.00.

The Colby men's varsity eight took eighth place in the open eight race in 15:33.00 with Rob Zondervan, Jon Ferris, Matt Wallach, Brian Kupke, Wally Sedgewick, Trevor Hardigan, Andy McEvoy, Devon Anderson and Michelle Easton in the boat. Holy Cross won the title in the 27-boat field in 14:59.00.

Ferris placed third in the men's open one final in 17:52.00. He was in a field of 11 rowers and was just one of three boats to finish under 18 minutes.

In women's novice four racing, the Colby team of Ruth Doherty, Meredith Rosenbloom, Dana Vancisin, Brittany Thomas and Charisse Molina took fourth place out of 10 boats with a time of 19:35.00.

The women's novice eight boat of Chelsea Alsofrom, Fiona Braslau, Jasmine Bruno, Bridget Ely, Michelle Graff, Sarah Hart, Stephanie Kramer, Meghan Moynihan and Molina placed eighth in 21:26.00.

The Colby varsity crews will compete in the Head of the Charles Regatta this Saturday and Sunday in Cambridge, Mass.

Related Links: