Crews compete at Head of Charles Regatta

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: October 24, 2010

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. --- The Colby College women's crew took 25th place and the men finished in 28th place in collegiate eight racing at the Head of the Charles Regatta on Sunday.

The women were racing in a field of 31 boats and finished with a time of 18 minutes, 26.185 seconds. Anna Leschen-Lindell '13, Allie Bolger '13, Lis Henderson '11, Charlotte Gardiner '13, Amy Paulekas '11, Molly Clark '13, Rachel Jacobs '13, Elise DeSimone '12, and Katie Ricciardi '12 were scheduled to race for the Mules.

The men's crew of Dan Abrams '13, Jack Vihstadt '12, Peter Smithy '12, David Cramer '12, Andrew Wall '12, Noah Teachey '13, Nate Krump '13, Will Brewer '11, and Pat Adams '13 had a time of 15:57.272 in a field of 42 boats.

In men's championship single racing, Steve Whelpley '05 finished in fifth place out of 27 boats with a time of 19:15.195.

In club four racing, Rebecca Reisman '06 was part of the Riverside Boat Club's third place finish out of 58 boats in a time of 17:36.497. Meanwhile, Tim Roberts '05 and Sam Gray '05 of the Willamette Rowing Club helped their club four team place ninth in 18:07.927.

Matt Wallach '07 competed in the men's championship double event and took 15th place in 22:48.03.

In alumni eight women's racing, the crew of Emily McClure '07, Katie O'Neill '04, Andrea Piekarski '04, Jesse Kaler '08, Sasha Bartels '08, Katie Jones '05, Laura Mistretta Kirk '04, Megan Loosigian '05, and Erica Bauer '04 finished 22nd out of 32 boats in 20:51.45.

The men's alumni eight crew of Michelle Easton '08, Ted Farwell '05, Nathaniel Hulme '05, Kevin Selby '05, Sam Fabens '07, Stuart Wilson '98, Mike Feldman '05, Jon Ferris '07, and Devon Anderson '09 were 35th of 43 boats in 18:18.074.

Related Links: