Five football players make All-NESCAC teams

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: November 18, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Nick Steele

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College senior offensive lineman Nick Steele (Danvers, Mass.) was named to the New England Small College Athletic Conference Football First Team as an offensive lineman as the Mules had five players honored Thursday.

Steele was the lone first team selection for the Mules, who went 4-4 this past season. Senior wide receiver Patrick Burns (Charles Town, W.V.), junior linebacker Tom Duffy (Plymouth, Mass.), sophomore defensive lineman Ryan Veillette (Westfield, Mass.), and sophomore defensive back Derrick Beasley (Andover, Mass.) were all named to the second team.

Steele, a co-captain for head coach Ed Mestieri, helped the Mules have a balanced attack. Colby ranked fourth in the 10-team league in passing offense (240.8 yards per game) and fifth in rushing (114.0).

Burns started his collegiate career as a quarterback, but finished up as an all-conference wide receiver. He was fifth in the conference in receiving yards per game (69.1) and tied for ninth in receptions per game (4.88) with 39 catches for 553 yards and six touchdowns. Burns finished his career with 1,041 receiving yards and eight touchdown catches.

Duffy finished eighth in the NESCAC in tackles per game (8.9) and led the Mules with 62 stops from his spot in the middle of Colby's defense. Duffy also had 6.5 tackles for loss, including one sack. He heads into his senior year with 110 of his 115 career tackles in the past two years.

Veillette did not start at the beginning of the season, but his play on the defensive line quickly earned him a spot. He finished tied for third in the NESCAC in sacks (5.5) and also led the Mules in tackles per game (9.5 for 43 yards). Veillette was fifth on the team in total tackles with 39.

Beasley showed great promise in his first year at Colby and finished his second season as an All-NESCAC selection. Beasley was tied for third in the league in interceptions with three for a return of 59 yards. He was second on the Mules in total tackles with 51, had one sack, and also led the team in pass break-ups with seven.

2010 NESCAC Football All-Conference Teams

Offensive Player of the Year: Patrick Moffitt, Williams, QB, Sr.; Defensive Player of the Year: Walter Fallas, Trinity, LB, Jr.; Rookie of the Year: Evan Bunker, Trinity, RB; Coach of the Year: Aaron Kelton, Williams

First Team offense: Patrick Moffitt, Williams, QB, Senior; Shea Dwyer, Wesleyan, RB, Gr.; Ryan Lupo, Williams, RB, Sr.; Michael Paladino, Trinity, FB, Sr.; John Ceccio, Amherst, OL, So.; Kevin Rose, Williams, OL, Sr.; Matthew Santora, Trinity, OL, Sr.; Nick Seara, Wesleyan, OL, Sr.; Nick Steele, Colby, OL, Sr.; Darren Hartwell, Williams, WR, So.; Brian Murphy, Amherst, WR, Sr.; Patrick Noone, Bowdoin, WR, Jr.; J.C. Stickney, Williams, WR, Jr.; Christopher Hunt, Trinity, TE, Sr.

First Team defense: Herman Brito, Trinity, DL, Jr.; Daniel Canina, Williams, DL, Sr.; Colin Curzi, Williams, DL, Jr.; Kevin Ferber, Amherst, DL, Jr.; Walter Fallas, Trinity, LB, Jr.; Jeff Katz, Amherst, LB, Sr.; Cyprian Oyomba, Wesleyan, LB, Jr.; Dylan Schultz, Williams, LB, Jr.; Myles Walker, Bates, LB, Sr.; Tyler Cole, Williams, DB, Jr.; Sam Diss, Tufts, DB, So.; Daniel O'Mara, Williams, DB, Jr.; Harry Melendez, Trinity, DB, Sr.; Ben Sherry, Trinity, DB, Sr.

First Team specialists: Matt Rawson, Amherst, PK, Jr.; Gavin Segall-Abrams, Bates, P, Sr.; Patrick Noone, Bowdoin, RS, Jr.

Second Team offense: Donald McKillop, Middlebury, QB, Sr.; Pat Bailey, Tufts, RB, Sr.; Eric Bunker, Amherst, RB, Jr.; Graham McCulloch, Williams, OL, Sr.; Ryan Moores, Middlebury, OL, So.; Zach Sadler, Wesleyan, OL, Sr.; Mike Valenti, Trinity, OL, So.; Ryan Weston, Bates, OL, Jr.; Patrick Burns, Colby, WR, Sr.; Michael Gilligan, Trinity, WR, Sr.; Matt Rayner, Middlebury, WR, Jr.; Jonathan Carroll, Williams, TE, Sr.

Second Team defense: Devin Horvath, Bates, DL, Sr.; Tim Kiely, Williams, DL, Sr.; Burke St. John, Hamilton, DL, Sr.; Ryan Veillette, Colby, DL, So.; Gary Williams, Trinity, DL, Jr.; Ferras Albitar, Tufts, LB, Jr.; Tom Duffy, Colby, LB, Jr.; Andrew Poulin, Middlebury, LB, Sr.; Ian Vieira, Bowdoin, LB, Jr.; Derrick Beasley, Colby, DB, So.; Justin Freres, Wesleyan, DB, Sr.; Andrew Kukesh, Bates, DB, Fy.

Second team specialists: Anthony Kuchan, Middlebury, PK, Sr.; Kyle Weiss, Wesleyan, P, Jr.; Pat Bailey, Tufts, RS, Sr.; Darren Hartwell, Williams, RS, So.

Related Links: