Football schedule set, 36 players will return

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: June 11, 2008
WATERVILLE, Maine --- The Colby College football team will begin the 2008 season when the Mules travel to Williams College for a 1 p.m. game on Saturday, September 20.

The Mules then play three of the next four games at home, including the opener against Middlebury College on September 27 at 1 p.m.

The Colby football team will have a new artificial turf field (Harold Alfond Field) for the 2008 season as the Mules return 36 letter winners.

Colby has had a young team for the past two years after going 13-3 in the 2004 and 2005 seasons. With 10 starters returning on both offense and defense, the Mules return a veteran team.

Patrick Burns '11 and Steve Carroll '10 will battle for the quarterback position with some promising newcomers.

Dan Prunier '10 looks to take a more prominent role at tailback. Roger Bel '10 also returns after getting carries last year. Mike Cuqua '10, Conor Tidgwell '11, and Max Williams '09 will also vie for playing time.

Justin Clark '09, Andrew Carey '09, Matt Hellinger '11, and Ernie Bove '10 return at wide receiver. Ryan Conlon '10 is back at tight end after playing just two games last year following a knee injury. Ross O'Connor '11, Ben Robinson '10, and Nat Carson '11 will compete for playing time.

The offensive line should be a strength with starters Garrett Hatton '09, Jeremy Steed '09, Mike McKeon '09, Rob Dillon '09, and Matt Fait '10 returning. Sam Hough '09, Brian Leighton '10, Matt Quinlan '10, and Carson Phillips-Spotts '11 will push to play a significant role.

Three-year starters Mark Ozarowski '09, a co-captain, and Sam Handler '09 return to lead Colby's defensive line from the end spots, while Casey Shea '09 moves from linebacker to end. Kevin Bird '09, another three-year starter, is at defensive tackle. Alex Tisch '09 and Casey Sullivan '10 are both competing to be starters.

John Murphy '09 will start for a third straight year at outside linebacker. Lamont Henry '10 and Denis Cronin '09 also return, while both Gardiner Parker '09 and Mike Talarico '11 saw significant time last year. Casey Shea '09 and John McCusker '11 should push to play a larger role in 2008.

The defensive backfield is experienced and deep with safeties Tom Daley '09, a co-captain, and Alex Halls '09 returning. Nick Tucker '10 and Rich Newton '11 return as starters at cornerback. Dave Brotman '10, Chris Copeland '09, and Carl Richards '10 provide solid depth.

Victor Gagne '09 is back to handle the kicking and punting duties, while Ryan Murphy '11 returns to snap for punts and all kicks.

2008 Schedule

Saturday, September 20      at Williams      1 p.m.

Saturday, September 27      Middlebury      1 p.m.

Saturday, October 4              Wesleyan      1 p.m.

Saturday, October 11            at Amherst    1 p.m.

Saturday, October 18            Hamilton        12 p.m.

Saturday, October 25            at Bates        1 p.m.

Saturday, November 1          at Tufts          12:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 8          Bowdoin        12:30 p.m.

Related Links: