Kowalski named All-NEWBA, in senior game

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 23, 2011
Athletics Preview Photos

Jules Kowalski

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College's Jules Kowalski (Montville, N.J.) earned one more award and will have one more chance to play collegiate basketball thanks to the New England Women's Basketball Association (NEWBA).

Kowalski was named to the NEWBA first team and was selected to play in the NEWBA Senior Classic this Saturday at 1 p.m. at Western New England College.

Kowalski was sixth in the New England Small College Athletic Conference in scoring (12.1), fourth in rebounding (7.5), fourth in field goal percentage (.520), fourth in defensive rebounding (5.36), ninth in blocks (1.07), and ninth in free throw percentage (.775). Kowalski was strong in conference games, averaging 13.2 points and a league-best 8.8 rebounds. A two-year captain, she helped Colby to a 46-11 the last two years and two trips to the NCAA Division III Tournament. She finished her career with 1,059 points and 749 rebounds.

New England Women's Basketball Association (NEWBA) All-Stars

Player of the Year: Melissa Teel, Western Connecticut, senior, center; Rookie of the Year: Rosa Drummond, Smith; Coach of the Year: Judy Blinstrub, Babson

First Team: Jules Kowalski, Colby, senior, forward; Nicole Wurdeman, Babson, junior, forward; Jen Wehner, Mass. College of Liberal Arts, junior, forward; Kathleen King, Babson, junior, forward; Melissa Teel, Western Connecticut, senior center

Second Team: Christine Daniels, Norwich, senior, forward; Courtney Cochran, Southern Maine, junior, forward; Stephanie Coro, Rhode Island College, junior, guard; Sarah Collins, Babson, sophomore, center; Ashley Wright, Endicott, senior guard

New England Women's Basketball Association (NEWBA) Senior Classic Rosters

White team: Tashsuna Ashmeade, UMass-Dartmouth; Brittney Chappron, Bridgewater State; Corey Cuddihy, Bridgewater State; Christine Daniels, Norwich; Elle Fontaine, WPI; Heather Lee, Western Connecticut; Laurel McWilliams, Norwich; Karli Spera, Western Connecticut; Katelyn Stravinsky, Colby-Sawyer; Melissa Teel, Western Connecticut; coached by Western Connecticut's Kim Rybczyk

Dark team: Damisi Adewumi, Babson; Kathy Andrade, Emerson; Katie Bergeron, Bowdoin; Becky Bowman, Babson; Carrie Bunnell, University of New England; Jules Kowalski, Colby; Alyssa Regan, Daniel Webster; Amber Strodthoff, Brandeis; Kirsten Vallone, Wentworth; Kaitlyn Wechsler, Lesley; coach TBA.

Related Links: