Russell earns All-NESCAC men's basketball honor

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 2, 2011
Athletics Preview Photos

Mike Russell

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College senior forward Mike Russell (Wellesley, Mass.) earned second team New England Small College Men's Basketball All-Conference honors for the second straight season on Wednesday.

Russell finished first in the conference in rebounding (12.6), seventh in scoring (16.0), second in steals (1.75 per game), and ninth in field goal percentage (.519). Russell finished his career with 1,301 points, 931 rebounds, a .541 field goal percentage over four seasons, and 122 assists.

Russell is just one of five players in Colby's storied basketball history to score more than 1,300 points and pull down more than 900 rebounds.

2011 NESCAC Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

                Player of the Year: Troy Whittington, Williams, center, senior; Andrew Locke, Middlebury, center, senior; Rookie of the Year: Aaron Toomey, Amherst, guard; Coach of the Year: Jeff Brown, Middlebury

                First Team: Conor Meehan, Amherst, guard, senior; James Wang, Williams, guard, junior; Will Hanley, Bowdoin, forward, junior; Ryan Sharry, Middlebury, forward, junior; Troy Whittington, Williams, center, senior

                Second Team: Shasha Brown, Wesleyan, guard, sophomore; Brian Ellis, Bates, forward, senior; Luke MacDougall, Trinity, forward, senior; Mike Russell, Colby, forward, senior; Andrew Locke, Middlebury, center, senior

Related Links: