Choice, Russell make All-NESCAC team

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 3, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Adam Choice

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College's Adam Choice (Newport, R.I.) made the New England Small College Athletic Conference Men's Basketball All-Conference Team for the third straight year and teammate Mike Russell (Wellesley, Mass.) was honored for the first time on Wednesday.

Choice, a senior guard/forward, made the second team as a sophomore and has now earned first team honors the past two years. Russell, who is a junior forward, was named to the second team.

Choice finished his career ranked eighth all-time in scoring for Colby with 1,534 points. He also had 654 rebounds, 185 assists, 134 steals, and 95 blocked shots during his four years.

In the latest NESCAC statistics, Choice ranks tied for second in scoring (18.3), eighth in assists (3.4), ninth in blocked shots (1.04), tied for ninth in steals (1.16), and 10th in rebounding (6.7). He is the only NESCAC men's basketball player since the 2002-03 season to finish the regular season in the top 10 in scoring, rebounding, assists, steals, and blocked shots.

Russell formed a tough 1-2 duo with Choice this season as the Mules finished 19-6 and made the NESCAC semifinals. He heads into his senior season with 918 points and 638 rebounds in his Colby career.

Russell ranks first in the NESCAC in rebounding (9.9), fourth in field goal percentage (.586), and 12th in scoring (14.1). Russell had 14 double-double games in scoring and rebounding in the Mules' 25 contests.

2010 NESCAC Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

First team: Adam Choice, Colby, senior; Brian Ellis, Bates, junior; Mark Phillips, Bowdoin, senior; Blake Schultz, Williams, senior; James Wang, Williams, sophomore

Second team: Mike Russell, Colby, junior; Shavar Bernier, Connecticut College, senior; Tim Edwards, Middlebury, senior; Jon Pierce, Tufts, senior; Ryan Sharry, Middlebury, sophomore; Troy Whittington, Williams, junior

Player of the Year: Blake Schultz, Williams, senior; Defensive Player of the Year: Tim Edwards, Middlebury, senior; Shasha Brown, Wesleyan; Coach of the Year: Mike Maker, Williams


Related Links: