McCarthy in men's lacrosse senior contest

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: June 3, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Whit McCarthy

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College's Whit McCarthy (Darien, Conn.) will get a final chance to play collegiate lacrosse when he competes in the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) Turfer East/West All-Star Game on Sunday at 4 p.m. at Endicott College.

McCarthy, who graduated from Colby last month, will play on the East squad. He was one of seven New England Small College Athletic Conference players selected to the game.

McCarthy was first on the Mules in scoring with 33 goals, including a team-high seven man-up goals, and 11 assists for 44 points. He ranked tied for second in the NESCAC in total man-up goals (7), tied for third in man-up goals per game (0.44), fifth in goals per game (2.06), sixth in points per game (2.75), seventh in goals scored, and 10th in total points (44). McCarthy ranks second all-time at Colby in career goals (118) and has 34 assists for 152 points.

NEILA East/West All-Star Game Rosters

East: Attack: Whit McCarthy, Colby; Adam Tracy, Bowdoin; Matt O'Connell, Saint Anselm; Brian Yepez, Lasell; Kevin Gould, Bentley. Midfield: Brad Lipkivich, Endicott; James Atkins, Tufts; Mark Webber, Merrimack; Ryan McDonald, Saint Anselm; Jackson Fallon, Providence; Brad Tunis, Bentley; Matt Vernick, Mount Ida; Terrance Nash, Southern New Hampshire; Matt Vozzolo, New England College. Defense: Shane Mahar, Merrimack; Rian Kearney, Roger Williams; Kevin Mulvey, Mount Ida; Henry Andrews, Bowdoin; Ryan Riedle, Providence; Kevin Debenedetto, Saint Anselm; Nate Burns, Salve Regina. Goalies: Cory Spinale, Merrimack; Eric Hagarty, Endicott. Coaches: Chris Lewis, Merrimack; Brett Holm, Tufts.

West: Attack: Tim Santye, Western New England; Tim Katz, Sacred Heart; Evan Morgan, Sacred Heart; Andrew Barbieri, Western Connecticut; Jon Killeen, Wesleyan; Adam Lanehart, Western Connecticut. Midfield: Joe Macchi, Springfield; Jake Rick, Castleton; Mike Martinez, Castleton; Kevin Peters, Fairfield; Kirk Zachary, Western Connecticut; Matt Warp, Wesleyan; Bob Hayes, U. Massachusetts; Justin Bearse, Hartford; Alex Delmaida, Quinnipiac. Defense: Peter Sessa, Springfield; Nick Zaleski, Western New England; Mike Smith, Springfield; Tim Nicholson, Plymouth State; Kyle Barnett, Keene State; Matt Murane, Bryant; Colin Murphy, Trinity; Crandon Leahy, Quinnipiac. Goalie: Tom Trgo, Sacred Heart. Coaches: Brian Kingsbury, Castleton; Jack Beebe, Springfield.


Related Links: