Osborne named Player of the Year

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 1, 2007
WATERVILLE, Maine ­-- Colby College senior captain Greg Osborne (Pomfret School/Stoughton, Mass.) has been named the best men’s hockey player in the New England Small College Athletic Conference after earning the league Player of the Year honor on Thursday.

Osborne also was named to the all-conference first team along with teammate Arthur Fritch (St. Sebastian’s/South Boston, Mass.). Josh Reber (Edina/Taft School/Edina, Minn.) was selected to the NESCAC second team for the Mules.

Osborne is the first Colby men’s hockey player to earn the Player of the Year honor since the league started having a playoff system in the 1999-2000 season. The two first-team selections by the league coaches is also a first for Colby. The Mules also have three players on the two teams for the first time.

Osborne is the fourth Colby athlete to earn a Player of the Year honor since the NESCAC began keeping league standings and installed a playoff system for their sports in 1999-2000. Men’s basketball player Sam Clark (2000-01), women’s basketball player Sarah Walsh (2002-03) and volleyball player Cait Cleaver (2005) were the other players honored.

Fritch and Osborne are both semifinalists for the Joe Concannon Award, given annually to New England’s best American-born Division II//III player. The Gridiron Club of Boston will announce the winner in mid-March.

Osborne leads the NESCAC in points per game (1.67), goals per game (0.88) and power play goals (11) with his 21 goals and 19 assists for 40 points. Scott Richardson, who also had 21 goals, was the last Colby player to score 20 goals back in the 1999-2000 season. Earlier this season, Osborne became the 13th Colby player in program history to reach 100 career points and he currently has 48 goals and 56 assists for 104 points.

Fritch, a junior who made the second team last year, leads NCAA Division III in scoring by defensemen at 1.46 points per game. He also leads all defensemen nationally in assists with 25. Fritch is second in the NESCAC in scoring with 10 goals and 25 assists for 35 points and is first in total assists and scoring by defensemen. He has 21 goals and 66 assists for 87 points in 71 career games.

Reber, a junior, just tied a NESCAC championships record with four points in a playoff game after scoring twice and dishing two assists in Colby’s quarterfinal win over Connecticut College last Saturday. Reber is third for the Mules in scoring with nine goals and 24 assists for 33 points. Reber is closing in on 100 career points with 24 goals and 73 assists for 97 points.

Osborne, Fritch and Reber are all part of Colby’s high-powered power play. The Mules rank third nationally and second in the conference on the power play at 26.2 percent efficiency. The three players have accounted for 22 goals with the man-advantage.

Colby (14-8-2), the third seed, plays in a NESCAC semifinal game this Saturday at 4 p.m. against second-seeded Middlebury College at Bowdoin College.

NESCAC Men’s Hockey All-Conference

Player of the Year: Greg Osborne, Colby; Rookie of the Year: Greg Parker, Connecticut College; Coach of the Year: Chris Potter, Wesleyan

First Team: Will Bennett, Wesleyan, senior, forward; Joel Covelli, Amherst, sophomore, forward; Greg Osborne, Colby, senior, forward; Arthur Fritch, Colby, junior, defenseman; John Halverson, Trinity, senior, defenseman; Mike Palladino, Wesleyan, sophomore, goalie

Second Team: Sean Ellis, Amherst, senior, forward; Mickey Gilchrist, Middlebury, junior, forward; Josh Reber, Colby, junior, forward; Tom Maldonado, Middlebury, junior, defenseman; Matt Smith, Bowdoin, sophomore, defenseman; Greg Parker, Connecticut College, first-year, goalie; Chris Rossi, Bowdoin, first-year, goalie

Related Links: