Osborne wins hockey's Concannon Award

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 22, 2007
WATERVILLE, Maine ­-- Colby College men’s hockey captain Greg Osborne (Pomfret School/Stoughton, Mass.) was named New England’s best American-born Division II/III hockey player after being awarded the seventh annual Joe Concannon Award on Thursday.

Osborne is the first Colby player to earn the honor. The award will be presented to Osborne at the New England Hockey Writers Dinner on Wednesday, April 11, at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass.

Osborne, a senior, was just honored as an American Hockey Coaches Association Second Team All-American on Monday. He had earlier earned New England Small College Athletic Conference Player of the Year and first-team honors.

Osborne led the NESCAC in scoring (21 goals, 20 assists, 41 points) and goals scored. Osborne also was first in the conference in power play goals (11) and second to teammate Arthur Fritch in power play points. Osborne had 22 power play goals in the last two seasons.

Osborne became the 13th player in Colby men’s hockey history to reach 100 career points. He had 48 goals and 57 assists for 105 points. Colby had a 58-33-9 record in Osborne’s four years, including a 14-9-2 record this year and a trip to the NESCAC semifinals.

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth’s Kyle McCullough, Saint Anselm’s Brett Smith, Fitchburg State’s Ryan Moore and Wesleyan University’s Will Bennett were the other finalists for the award.

Joe Concannon Award Winners

2007: Greg Osborne, Colby

2006: Adam Dann, Bowdoin

2005: Brian Doherty, Curry and Joseph Ori, Trinity

2004: Jim Panczykowski, Wesleyan and Mike O’Sullivan, Curry

2003: Nick Stauder, Salem State

2002: Michael Carosi, Bowdoin

2001: Keith Aucoin, Norwich

Related Links: