More hockey honors for Fritch, Osborne

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 30, 2007
WATERVILLE, Maine ­--- Junior defenseman Arthur Fritch (St. Sebastians/South Boston, Mass.) and senior forward Greg Osborne (Pomfret School/Stoughton, Mass.) were named to the 2007 New England Hockey Writers ECAC East/NESCAC All-Star Team on Friday.

Fritch was one of five defensemen selected to the squad, while Osborne was among six forwards picked by the hockey writers.

Fritch was named a first team All-American and was selected to the New England Small College Athletic Conference first team in awards already handed out.

Osborne was honored as a second team All-American and earned NESCAC Player of the Year and first team honors. He recently was selected as the winner of the Joe Concannon Award, given to the top American-born New England Division II/III player.

Fritch led NCAA Division III in scoring by defensemen with 12 goals and 25 assists for 37 points. He was a NESCAC second team selection last year and moved up to the first team this season. Fritch heads into his senior season with 23 goals and 66 assists for 89 career points.

Fritch was first in the NESCAC in power play points (0.92 per game), first in defensemen scoring, tied for first in assists with teammate Josh Reber and was second to Osborne in points. Fritch’s work on the blue line on the power play helped the Mules have the third-best man advantage in Division III this season.

Osborne led NESCAC in scoring (21 goals, 20 assists, 41 points) and goals scored. Osborne also was first in the conference in power play goals (11) and second to Fritch in power play points. Osborne had 22 power play goals in the last two seasons.

Osborne became the 13th player in Colby men’s hockey history to reach 100 career points. He had 48 goals and 57 assists for 105 points. Osborne was an assistant captain during his junior year and was voted captain by his teammates for this past season.

Colby was 14-9-2 this year and made the NESCAC semifinals.

2007 New England Hockey Writers ECAC East/NESCAC All-Star Team

Forwards: Brad Baldelli, Babson; Will Bennett, Wesleyan; Mark Carragher, Southern Maine; Mickey Gilchrist, Middlebury; Rick Cleaver, Norwich; Greg Osborne, Colby College

Defensemen: Arthur Fritch, Colby; John Halverson, Trinity; Tom Maldonado, Middlebury; Dane Marshall, Southern Maine; Travis Martell, Castleton State

Goaltenders: David Beckles, Southern Maine; Mike Palladino, Wesleyan

MVP: Rick Cleaver, Norwich; Coach of the Year: Jamie Rice, Babson

Related Links: