Bunker, McCarthy, Deveau honored by NEILA

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: May 12, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Craig Bunker

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Craig Bunker (Topsfield, Mass.) was named to the first team, Whit McCarthy (Darien, Conn.) earned second team honors, and Ian Deveau (Portsmouth, R.I.) was honored as Rookie of the Year on the 2010 New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) Division III All-New England Team on Wednesday.

Bunker, an All-American and a first team All-NESCAC selection last year, was selected under the special category for his face-off abilities. He leads the NESCAC in face-offs won (212), face-off percentage (212-for-293, .724), ground balls per game (7.56), and total groundballs (121). Bunker ranks fourth nationally in face-off percentage after leading the country for most of the year and is 17th in groundballs per game. The Colby team leads NCAA Division III in face-off percentage (.713).

McCarthy was first on the Mules in scoring with 33 goals, including a team-high seven man-up goals, and 11 assists for 44 points. He ranks second in the NESCAC in man-up goals per game (0.44), fourth in goals per game (2.06), and sixth in scoring (2.75). McCarthy ranks second all-time at Colby in career goals (118) and has 34 assists for 152 points.

Deveau had a memorable first season at Colby with 14 goals and a team-best 21 assists for 35 points. He ranks fourth in the NESCAC in assists per game (1.31) and is 16th in scoring (2.19). Deveau was tied for second on Colby in man-up goals with three.

2010 New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Division III All-New England Team

Player of the Year: D.J. Hessler, Tufts; Rookie of the Year: Ian Deveau, Colby; Coach of the Year: Dave Cornell, Connecticut College

First team: Attack: D.J. Hessler, Tufts; Steve Dachille, Connecticut College; Griffin Meehan, Keene State. Midfield: Matt Witko, Tufts; Owen Smith, Bowdoin; Brad Lipkvich, Endicott; Mike Santare, Western New England; David Hild, Middlebury; Evan Redwood, Amherst. LSM: Nick Zaleski, Western New England. Defense: Eytan Saperstein, Tufts; Matt Rayner, Middlebury; Bob Crossett, Endicott. Goalie: Eric Hagarty, Endicott. Special: Craig Bunker, Colby.

Second team: Attack: Whit McCarthy, Colby; Pat White, Western New England; Tim Santye, Western New England. Midfield: Eric Doran, Connecticut College; Matt Vozzolo, New England College; Alex Fox, Amherst; Mark Mangano, Connecticut College; Jim Turene, Roger Williams; Joe Macchia, Springfield. LSM: Peter Sessa, Springfield. Defense: Henry Andrews, Bryant; Andrew Pochebit, Endicott; Bill Kelsey, Western New England. Goalie: Steven Vrla, Williams. Special: Eric Vasil, Eastern Connecticut.


Related Links: