Bunker, McCarthy, Deveau honored by NESCAC

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: May 18, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Whit McCarthy

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Craig Bunker (Topsfield, Mass.) and Whit McCarthy (Darien, Conn.) were each named to the New England Small College Athletic Conference First Team and teammate Ian Deveau (Portsmouth, R.I.) was honored as the league's Rookie of the Year on Tuesday.

The three already had earned honors from the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA). Bunker was on the first team, McCarthy was second team All-New England, and Deveau was also named the top rookie.

Bunker, an All-American, repeats as a first team All-NESCAC selection under the special category for his face-off abilities. He led the NESCAC in face-offs won (212), face-off percentage (212-for-293, .724), ground balls per game (7.56), and total groundballs (121). Bunker, who was a unanimous selection by the NESCAC coaches, ranks third nationally in face-off percentage after leading the country for most of the year and is 16th in groundballs per game. The Colby team leads NCAA Division III in face-off percentage (.713).

McCarthy, a second team all-conference selection last year, was first on the Mules in scoring with 33 goals, including a team-high seven man-up goals, and 11 assists for 44 points. He ranks second in the NESCAC in man-up goals per game (0.44), fourth in goals per game (2.06), and seventh in scoring (2.75). McCarthy ranks second all-time at Colby in career goals (118) and has 34 assists for 152 points.

Deveau had a memorable first season at Colby with 14 goals and a team-best 21 assists for 35 points. He ranks fifth in the NESCAC in assists per game (1.31) and is 14th in scoring (2.19). Deveau was tied for second on Colby in man-up goals with three.

2010 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: DJ Hessler, Tufts, A, junior; Rookie of the Year: Ian Deveau, Colby, M, first year; Coach of the Year: Dave Cornell, Connecticut College

First team: Whit McCarthy, Colby, A, senior; Steve Dachille, Connecticut College, A, senior; DJ Hessler, Tufts, A, junior; Evan Redwood, Amherst, M, sophomore; Owen Smith, Bowdoin, M, junior; Matt Witko, Tufts, M, junior; Alec Bialosky, Tufts, LSM, junior; Colin Murphy, Trinity, LSM, senior; Craig Bunker, Colby, SP, junior; Andrew D'Ambrosio, Williams, D, senior; Matt Rayner, Middlebury, D, sophomore; Eytan Saperstein, Tufts, D, senior; Stephen Vrla, Williams, GK, senior

Second team: Russ Halliday, Bowdoin, A, junior; Pete Smith, Middlebury, A, senior; Adam Tracy, Bowdoin, A, senior; Eric Doran, Connecticut College, M, junior; Alex Fox, Amherst, M, sophomore; David Hild, Middlebury, M, junior; Mike O'Donnell, Connecticut College, LSM, sophomore; Corey Jacobs, Williams, SP, junior; Henry Andrews, Bowdoin, D, senior; Teddy Bascom, Trinity, D, junior; Michael Nadler, Bates, D, senior; Rob Moccia, Connecticut College, GK, sophomore


Related Links: