Desmond earns men's soccer All-NESCAC honor

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: November 11, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Ben Desmond

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College senior Ben Desmond (Ann Arbor, Mich.), whose defense helped the Mules secure the fifth seed in the league playoffs, was named to the 2010 New England Small College Athletic Conference Men's Soccer All-Conference Team on Thursday.

Desmond, who was on the NESCAC second team, helped the Mules to arguably their best season in more than a decade. Colby finished 7-7-1 overall, 4-5 in the conference, and earned the fifth seed in the eight-team league playoffs. Colby has gone to the NESCAC playoffs in back-to-back years after never making the conference playoffs since the league installed a playoffs system in 2000.

The Mules allowed 21 goals in 15 games, but Colby held the opponent to two goals or less in 13 of the 15 contests. Colby had four shutouts this season, including an important 1-0 win at Trinity to start the season. Colby also took a 2-1 overtime victory over Middlebury, which went on to win the NESCAC title.

Desmond, a co-captain, finished with one goal in a tough 2-1 overtime loss to Williams and ended his career with two goals and two assists for six points.

2010 NESCAC Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams

               Player of the Year: Harrison Watkins, Middlebury; Rookie of the Year: Ben Brewster, Bowdoin; Coach of the Year: Fran O'Leary, Bowdoin

               First Team: Gaston Kelly, Williams, F; Tyler Macnee, Middlebury, F; Trevor Prophet, Connecticut College, F; Charles Romero, Williams, F; Jake Edwards, Middlebury, M; Call Nichols, Bowdoin, M; Ian Rothkopf, Amherst, M; Sean Bishop, Bowdoin, B; Joe Vella, Williams, B; Harrison Watkins, Middlebury, B; Tim Cahill, Middlebury, GK

               Second Team: Spencer Noon, Amherst, F; Robbie Redmond, Middlebury, F; Walter Rodriguez, Wesleyan, F; Carson Cornbrooks, Middlebury, M; Ben Denton-Schneider, Bowdoin, M; James Mooney, Amherst, M; Tim Prior, Bowdoin, M; Ben Desmond, Colby, B; Matt Ratajczak, Williams, B; Chris Skayne, Amherst, B; Grant Schonberg, Trinity, GK

Related Links: