Desmond earns men's soccer team MVP honor

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: December 29, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Ben Desmond

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College defender Ben Desmond was named winner of the Mike Loebs MVP Award at the recent men's soccer banquet.

Desmond, a co-captain, earned second team All-NESCAC honors and was on the 2010 NESCAC Fall All-Academic Team. Jeremy Lachtrupp, Donny MacMaster, Nick Nowak, Peter Williams, Peter Randall, Nate Seiberling, Matt Vivero, and Stephen Zaharias also were on the NESCAC Fall All-Academic Team.

Seiberling, a co-cpatain, was the Colby award winner for the Sam Koch Award for Spirit and Dedication. Matt Carey was honored with the Jamie Lue Memorial Coaches Award and the Mules' representative on the 2010 NESCAC Fall All-Sportsmanship Team.

The Mules also earned the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Team Academic Award for the 10th straight year. The streak is the longest of any NESCAC men's soccer team.

The captains for the 2011 squad will be Matt Boyes-Watson and Cory Hendrickson.

Related Links: