Butler named team MVP; captains named

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: December 19, 2007
Mike Butler was honored as the Mike Loebs MVP Award winner for the Colby College men's soccer team and the Mules also elected captains for the 2008 season.

Center back Tom Milaschewski and midfielder Scott Carberry were elected captains by their peers and are two of 10 seniors on next year's squad for head coach Mark Serdjenian.

Butler earned the team MVP award and also was named to the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) All-Sportsmanship Team. Butler, who played a defensive midfielder spot, also plays ice hockey for Colby and is one of the team's top scorers.

Zak Starr earned the Jamie Lue Coaches' Award after serving time as a back-up goalkeeper for the past three years behind two All-NESCAC goalies. With a chance to start in his final year, Starr broke his arm throwing a pitch in a summer league baseball game. Starr still attended soccer practice daily and then saw limited action after he was cleared to play.

Senior midfielder Adam Curatolo was the recipient of the Sam Koch Award for spirit and dedication. He played his first two years on the Colby jayvee, saw limited time as a junior, and was the first player off the bench and was a solid contributor during his senior season.

Logan King, Milaschewski, Matt Shatkin, and Will Kinder all were named to the NESCAC Fall All-Academic Team for having a grade point average of 3.35 or better. Colby's team also earned the National Soccer Coaches Association of America Team Academic Award for the seventh straight season, the longest active streak in the NESCAC.

Related Links: