Healy, Squicciarino, Bunker to play in North/South game

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: May 25, 2011

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College men's lacrosse players Chris Healy (New Canaan, Conn.), Mark Squicciarino (Titusville, N.J.), and Craig Bunker (Topsfield, Mass.) will all play in the Division III North/South Senior Game this Friday at 3 p.m. at Goucher College.

The Division I-II game will follow at 5:30 p.m.

Healy was tied for seventh in New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) games in total groundballs (36) and groundballs per game (4.0). He had 50 groundballs and a pair of goals on defense. Healy finished his career with six goals on just 13 shots and 111 groundballs.

Squicciarino finished his Colby career with 59 goals and 33 assists for 92 career points. He increased his assist total every season and had 15 goals and 15 assists for 30 points this year. Squicciarino, with his hard shot, also was tough in man-up situations with 11 goals in the last three years.

Bunker is Colby's first-ever three-time All-American and was a three-time All-NESCAC First Team selection. Bunker was fourth nationally in face-off percentage (.714) and 17th in groundballs per game (7.69) this past season. He led the NESCAC in total groundballs (123), groundballs per game, and face-off percentage.

The first North-South College all-star game was played in 1940 at Municipal Stadium in Baltimore. Sixty-six total games have been played with interruptions occurring only in 1944 and 1945. In 1991, the USILA split the event and created two games -- the Division I-II game and the Division III game. This two-game format was interrupted in 2006 when a special committee of the USILA recommended returning to one game and combining all divisions. The following year, 2007, saw the return to two separate games.

USILA North/South Senior All-Star Game

Division III North Team

Head Coach: Paul Wehrum (Union)

Assistant Coaches: Tucker Kear,

Kevin Rautenstrauch, Dan McKeon (Union)

No. Name Position Institution City State

1 Iric Bressler Attack Rochester Institute of Technology Stafford VA

2 Derek Witheford Defense Union College Wellesley MA

3 Nick Billy Midfield Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Redding CT

4 Robert Crossett Defense Endicott College Katonah NY

5 Scott Castle Midfield Nazareth College Skaneateles NY

6 Ray Ryan Midfield SUNY Geneseo Syracuse NY

7 Bob Tonnessen Goalie Rochester Institute of Technology Ridgefield CT

8 Kyle Norchi Attack SUNY Plattsburgh Hauppauge NY

9 Craig Lange Attack SUNY Geneseo Syracuse NY

10 Joe Jacobs-Ferderbar Attack Nazareth College Orchard Park NY

11 Jacques Ward Midfield Skidmore College New York NY

12 Eric Vasil Midfield Eastern Connecticut State University Southington CT

13 Brian Orr Defense Nazareth College Medford MA

14 Mark Squicciarino Midfield Colby College Titusville NJ

15 Shawn Runyon Midfield Springfield College Fairport NY

16 Craig Bunker SS Middie Colby College Topsfield MA

17 Shane Crossett Defense SUNY Cortland Camillus NY

18 Mike Silipo Midfield Ithaca College Deerfield MA

19 Justin Schneidman Defense SUNY Cortland Katonah NY

20 Brendan Kinnane Attack Union College Little Compton RI

21 Jason Distefano Attack SUNY Cortland Huntington NY

22 Matt Sweeney Midfield Husson University Norwood MA

23 Mark Mangano Midfield Connecticut College Basking Ridge NJ

24 Matt Levesque Attack Skidmore College Duxbury MA

25 Joseph May Defense SUNY Geneseo Homer NY

26 Gabe Mann Defense Amherst College Denver CO

27 MJ Kiekebelt LP Midfield Rochester Institute of Technology Bolton Ontario

28 Ryan Schmidt Midfield St. John Fisher College Whitesboro NY

29 Chris Healy Defense Colby College New Canaan CT

30 Ryan Deane Goalie Middlebury College Grosse Pointe MI

31 Chris Cotter Midfield Endicott College Stratford CT

32 Andrew Conner Midfield Middlebury College Alexandria VA


Division III South Team

Head Coach: Todd Cavallaro (Franklin and Marshall)

Assistant Coaches: Casey Kear, Randy Marks,

Roly Shover (Franklin and Marshall)

No. Name Position Institution City State

1 Zach McHugh Defense Stevens Institute of Technology Hoboken NJ

2 Kohl Meyer Midfield University of Mary Washington Fredericksburg VA

3 Travis Gregory Midfield Haverford College Bishopville MD

4 Dennis Rosson Attack St. Mary's College Severna Park MD

5 Brandon Faubert Midfield Stevens Institute of Technology Virginia Beach VA

6 Paul Skulski Midfield Cabrini College Glen Mills PA

7 Tony D'Abarno Defense Ohio Wesleyan University Venetia PA

8 Zach Wilfong Attack Saint Vincent College Columbus OH

9 Riley Myrick Defense Whittier College San Diego CA

10 Max Hjelm Attack Haverford College Devon PA

11 Evan Douglass Defense Stevenson University Exeter NH

12 Tanner Smith Midfield Denison University Boxford MA

13 Charlie Sayre LP Midfield Kenyon College Englewood CO

14 John Haire Defense Dickinson College Darien CT

15 Matt Mummert LP Midfield McDaniel College Dillsburg PA

16 Chris Fumai SS Middie Gettysburg College Huntington NY

17 Mark DeOliveira Goalie Wittenberg University Easr Hanover NJ

18 Kyle Moffitt Midfield Stevenson University Harrisburg PA

19 Justin Tuma Midfield Roanoke College Bloomfield Hills MI

20 John Odierna Defense Gettysburg College Oyster Bay NY

21 Ryan Kleman Goalie University of Mary Washington Fredericksburg VA

22 Austin Wernecke Defense Washington and Lee University Lutherville MD

23 Robert Sinicola Attack Montclair State University Caldwell NJ

24 Chris Laurita Midfield Stevens Institute of Technology Kendall Park NJ

25 Cole Hawthorne Midfield Hampden-Sydney College Richmond VA

26 Patrick Cefalu Face-off The University of Scranton East Islip NY

27 Drew Manley SS Middie Roanoke College Severna Park MD

28 Jimmy Dailey Attack Stevenson University Westminster MD

29 Alex Burkhead Defense Roanoke College Winston Salem NC

30 Josh Maluta Attack Adrian College Naperville IL

31 J. J. Miller Midfield Messiah College Odenton MD

32 Zach Hoisington Defense Colorado College Alexandria VA

Related Links: