ECAC Player of the Year honor to Sheridan

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: June 19, 2008

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College women's lacrosse player Kate Sheridan (Hingham, Mass.) continued to pile up honors after being named the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) 2008 Division III New England Player of the Year on Thursday.

Sheridan, who will be a senior this fall, also was named to the ECAC first team along with teammates Becky Julian (South Windsor, Conn.) and Jamie Enos (South Hamilton, Mass.).

Sheridan had already been named Division III Midfielder of the Year by, earned three first team All-American honors from three organizations, was the New England Small College Athletic Conference Player of the Year, and was on the All-New England Region and NESCAC first teams.

Sheridan led the NESCAC in scoring with 58 goals and 33 assists for 91 points. She also had a team-best 67 draw controls and added 32 ground balls. Sheridan, now a three-time All-American, has 147 goals and 62 assists for 209 career points.

Enos and Julian also were named All-Americans by three organizations and were both on the NESCAC first team.

Enos, who graduated from Colby in May, led the Mules in caused turnovers (28) and ground balls (39). The co-captain had 88 career ground balls and 46 caused turnovers on defense. Colby was 50-20 over the past four seasons with Enos in the lineup.

Julian missed the opening two games of the season after earning all-conference honors in leading the Colby women's hockey team to the NESCAC title game. She got stronger as the season wore on and was a three-time NESCAC Player of the Week. Julian ranked third in the NESCAC in points per game with 49 goals and 21 assists for 70 points in 17 games. Julian has 93 goals and 32 assists for 125 career points. She set NESCAC playoff records for points (17) and goals (11) in a tournament.

The three players helped Colby finish 13-6, win the NESCAC title game, and make the NCAA Division III Tournament for the second time in program history.

2008 ECAC Division III New England Women's Lacrosse All-Stars

Player of the Year: Kate Sheridan, Colby; Goalkeeper of the Year: Linda McEvoy, Amherst; Rookie of the Year: Sarah Macary, Babson

First team: Becky Julian, Colby, junior, attacker; Anita Martignetti, Babson, senior, attacker; C.J. Yanofsky, Trinity, senior, attacker; Nikki MacKay, Curry, junior, attacker; Kate Sheridan, Colby, junior, midfielder; Jackie Godfrey, Babson, junior, midfielder; Rachel Romanowsky, Trinity, first year, midfielder; Shannon Manning, Bridgewater State, sophomore, midfielder; Catherine Calvert, Amherst, junior, defender; Jamie Enos, Colby, senior, defender; Nicole Poli, Western New England, first year, defender; Linda McEvoy, Amherst, senior, goalie

Second team: Kaitlyn Pettengill, Babson, sophomore, attacker; Caitlyn Murphy, Lasell, junior, attacker; Amy Craig, Amherst, junior, attacker; Valerie Feldman, Endicott, sophomore, attacker; Lindsey Fenton, Western New England, junior, midfielder; Ashley Hansbury, Curry, first year, midfielder; Ally Daniels, Norwich, sophomore, midfielder; Marie Spang, UMass-Dartmouth, senior, midfielder; Molly Moss, Endicott, junior, defender; Loretta White, Wellesley, sophomore, defender; Brianne Carlson, Babson, senior, defender; Chyanne Wilson, Gordon, junior, goalie

Related Links: