Ski teams set to open season Friday

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: January 9, 2008
WATERVILLE, Maine --- The Colby College alpine ski teams begin the season Friday with a new head coach and the Nordic ski teams head into 2008 after a successful end to the 2007 season.

Colby will compete at the Bates College Ski Carnival starting at 9:30 a.m. Friday and 9 a.m. Saturday. The Nordic teams will compete at Black Mountain, while the alpine skiers will race at Sunday River.

The men's Nordic team was recently honored as the Most Improved Team/Club at the NCAA Skiing Championships last year. Fred Bailey and Nick Kline each competed at the NCAA meet for head coach Tracey Cote, who was honored as the Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association (EISA) Co-Coach of the Year last year. While Bailey is a key loss to graduation, Kline returns and will captain the team this year.

Matt Briggs nearly made the NCAA meet and was a second alternate for the Colby men's Nordic team. Briggs recently won an Eastern Cup race in Presque Isle against many competitors he will be skiing against during the carnival season.

The men's Nordic team will have depth with John Swain, Silas Gill, Austin Ross, and Sam Mathes returning to the lineup after solid finishes last year.

The women's Nordic team will have less depth than the men, but co-captain Kathleen Maynard should have top finishes during the course of the season. Linnea Rooke is the other captain and Jennie Brentrup also returns from a year ago.

The alpine teams will be led by new head coach Danny Noyes, a 2002 graduate of Colby. Noyes spent the last two years as head coach of the Colby-Sawyer College ski teams.

Jody Centauro and Josh Kernan each return to the men's alpine team after making the NCAA meet last year. Centauro, a captain, was 16th in the slalom at the 2006 national meet and placed 22nd last year and was 24th in the giant slalom. Kernan took 20th in the slalom and 25th in the giant slalom at the NCAA meet.

Sam Witherspoon and Corey Linton also return from last year after posting solid runs a year ago.

Dana Breakstone and Emily Colin are co-captains for the women's alpine team after each finished with top-20 finishes a year ago. Laura Littman, Brett Wagenheim, Ashley Best, and Julia Coffin Peck also return.

Related Links: