Tortorello named to all-conference team

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: November 2, 2010
Athletics Preview Photos

Amy Tortorello

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College sophomore Amy Tortorello (Medway, Mass.), who earned a top-10 finish in her first league championship race, was named as a New England Small College Athletic Conference Women's Cross Country All-Conference selection on Tuesday.

Tortorello earned the second team honor Saturday after placing 10th in the 6-kilometer NESCAC race in a time of 22 minutes, 59.9 seconds, helping the Mules take fourth out of 11 teams at the meet.

Tortorello has had a fine season, winning the Maine State championship women's race and helping Colby win the title for the 11th time in program history. She also took first place in a meet with Bowdoin, Tufts, and Bates earlier this season.

After a weekend off, Tortorello will be a key runner for Colby at the NCAA New England Regional Qualifier at Williams College on Saturday, Nov. 13.

2010 NESCAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference

First Team

                Annie Dear, Williams, So.; Jennifer Gossels, Williams, So.; Maddie Hubbell, Middlebury, Fy.; Claire McIllvennie, Middlebury, Jr.; Katie Rominger, Middlebury, Fy.; Ali Simeone, Amherst, So.; Colette Whitney, Middlebury, Fy.

Second Team

                Amy Tortorello, Colby, So.; Carolyn Baskir, Bowdoin, Fy.; Lauren Goldstein-Kral, Williams, Jr.; Hannah Meier, Middlebury, Jr.; Melissa Sullivan, Amherst, Jr.; Chelsea Ward-Waller, Middlebury, Jr.; Amy Wilfert, Tufts, Sr.

Most Outstanding Performer: Jennifer Gossels, Williams; Rookie of the Year: Colette Whitney, Middlebury; Coach of the Year: Terry Aldrich, Middlebury

Related Links: