Kowalski, Mack both earn All-NESCAC honors

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 2, 2011

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College senior forward Jules Kowalski (Montville, N.J.) and junior forward Rachael Mack (Augusta, Maine) were each named to the New England Small College Athletic Conference Women's Basketball All-Conference Team on Wednesday.

Kowalski was named to the first team, while Mack was selected to the second team. Both players made All-NESCAC for the first time.

Kowalski, a tri-captain, ranks sixth in the NESCAC in scoring (12.2), third in rebounding (7.9), third in field goal percentage (.523), seven in blocked shots (1.12), and eighth in free throw percentage (.765). She ranks 13th all-time in scoring at Colby with 1,039 points and also has 744 rebounds, 136 assists, 98 blocked shots, 86 steals, and a .471 field goal percentage in her four-year career.

Mack is fourth in the league in scoring (12.5), first in free throw percentage (.853), second in rebounding (8.0), and fourth in field goal percentage (.518). In just her third season, Mack already has 884 points, 590 rebounds, 101 assists, 94 blocked shots, 85 steals, a .525 field goal percentage, and a .852 free throw percentage in her Colby career.

Kowalski and Mack have each helped Colby rank first in the NESCAC in team free throw percentage (.774), field goal percentage (.452), and rebounding margin (9.7). The Mules are third nationally in free throw percentage, 10th in field goal percentage, and 15th in rebounding margin.

Colby, which is 45-10 over the past two seasons, just earned a second straight trip to the NCAA Division III Tournament. The Mules (21-5) will play Stevens Institute of Technology in an opening round game Friday at 5 p.m. at William Paterson University in New Jersey.

2011 NESCAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team

                Player of the Year: Jaci Daigneault, Amherst, senior; Defensive Player of the Year: Vanessa Miller, Tufts, senior; Rookie of the Year: Meredith Kelly, Bates; Coach of the Year: G.P. Gromacki, Amherst

                First Team: Katie Bergeron, Bowdoin, guard, senior; Colleen Hart, Tufts, guard, senior; Jaci Daigneault, Amherst, forward, senior; Chessie Jackson, Williams, forward, senior; Jules Kowalski, Colby, forward, senior

                Second Team: Jill Henrikson, Bowdoin, guard, junior; Caroline Stedman, Amherst, guard, junior; Claire Baecher, Williams, guard/forward, sophomore; Rachael Mack, Colby, forward, junior; Taylor Shea, Williams, forward, senior; Sarah Leyman, Amherst, center, senior            

Related Links: