Kowalski, Mack earn all-region honors

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: March 15, 2011

WATERVILLE, Maine --- The women's basketball honors continue to come in for Colby College's Jules Kowalski (Montville, N.J.) and Rachael Mack (Augusta, Maine) after being named to the D3hoops.com Northeast All-Region Team on Tuesday.

Kowalski was named to the second team, while Mack was on the third team. Both players already have been honored as All-New England Small College Athletic Conference and All-Maine.

Kowalski is fifth in the NESCAC in scoring (12.1), fourth in rebounding (7.5), fifth in field goal percentage (.520), fourth in defensive rebounding (5.36), eighth in blocks (1.07), and ninth in free throw percentage (.775). Kowalski was strong in conference games, averaging 13.2 points (ranked third) and a league-best 8.8 rebounds. A two-year captain, she finished her career with 1,059 points and 749 rebounds.

Mack ranks first in the NESCAC in rebounding (8.2), first in free throw shooting (.846), fourth in scoring (12.5), and fourth in field goal percentage (.521) and was a second team All-NESCAC selection. Mack was the only player in the NESCAC in the top five in both offensive and defensive rebounding. She was fourth in the league in conference game only scoring and third in rebounding. Heading into her senior season next year, Mack has 907 points, 611 rebounds, 103 assists, 95 blocked shots, and 86 steals. Mack made the All-State second team last year.

Kowalski and Mack helped the Mules to a 46-11 record and two straight trips to the NCAA Division III Tournament the past two years.

D3hoops.com, Women's All-Northeast Region Team

Player of the Year: Jaci Daigneault, Amherst, senior; Coach of the Year: G.P. Gromacki, Amherst; Rookie of the Year: Kelly Slattery, Springfield

First team: Caroline Stedman, Amherst, guard, junior; Ashley Wright, Endicott, guard, senior; Jaci Daigneault, Amherst, forward, senior; Nicole Wurdeman, Babson, forward, junior; Melissa Teel, Western Connecticut, center, senior

Second team: Colleen Hart, Tufts, guard, senior; Katie Bergeron, Bowdoin, guard, senior; Jules Kowalski, Colby, forward, senior; Erin Phillips, Salve Regina, forward, senior; Sarah Collins, Babson, center, sophomore

Third team: Corey Cuddihy, Bridgewater State, guard, senior; Morgan Kendrew, Brandeis, guard, junior; Rachel Williams, New England College, forward, junior; Christine Daniels, Norwich, forward, senior; Rachael Mack, Colby, center, junior

Fourth team: Karli Spera, Western Connecticut, guard, sophomore; Olivia DiNucci, Emerson, guard, sophomore; Chessie Jackson, Williams, forward, senior; Kathleen King, Babson, forward, junior; Alycia Gervais, Daniel Webster, forward, junior

Related Links: