Four named women's lacrosse All-Americans

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: May 28, 2008
WATERVILLE, Maine --- Kate Sheridan (Hingham, Mass.) was named the Division III Midfielder of the Year by and four Colby College players earned All-American honors from two organizations on Wednesday.

Sheridan was selected to the first team by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA)/US Lacrosse and groups. Jamie Enos (South Hamilton, Mass.) also was on the IWLCA first team and was on the second team, Becky Julian (South Windsor, Conn.) made the second team for both groups, and Caroline Duke (Englewood, Colo.) was on both organization's third team. All four players earned IWLCA All-Region First Team honors last week.

Sheridan already earned New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Player of the Year and first team all-league honors after leading the conference in scoring with 58 goals and 33 assists for 91 points. She also had a team-best 67 draw controls and 32 ground balls. Sheridan, now a three-time All-American heading into her senior season, has 147 goals and 62 assists for 209 career points.

Enos and Julian had earlier earned first team all-league honors from NESCAC, while Duke was on the second team.

Enos, a senior co-captain, led the Mules in caused turnovers (28) and ground balls (39). She had 88 career ground balls and 46 caused turnovers on defense. Colby was 50-20 over the past four seasons with Enos in the lineup.

Julian, a junior attacker, was a three-time NESCAC Player of the Week during the season. She ranked third in the NESCAC in points per game with 49 goals and 21 assists for 70 points in 17 games. Julian has 93 goals and 32 assists for 125 career points. She set NESCAC playoff records for points (17) and goals (11) in a tournament.

Duke, a sophomore defender, finished tied for second on Colby in caused turnovers (22) and had 24 ground balls and 20 draw controls. Duke has 33 caused turnovers, 35 ground balls, and 25 draw controls in two years.

Colby has had seven players earn eight All-American honors in the past two years.

IWLCA/US Lacrosse All-American Team

First team

Sue Ackerman, Sr., Salisbury, A; Robyn Bishop, Jr., Salisbury, M; Kaillie Briscoe, Jr., Hamilton, A; Toni-Anne Cavallo, Sr., TCNJ, M; Katie Ceglarski, Sr., Gettysburg, M; Karen Doane, Sr., TCNJ, A; Jamie Enos, Sr., Colby, D; Callie Gates, Sr., Gettysburg, Kate Marek, Jr., Hamilton, M; Sarah Meisenberg, Jr., Franklin and Marshall, M; Kat Michaels, Sr., Washington and Lee, D; Jen Pritchard, Jr., Franklin and Marshall, A; Katie Reuther, Jr., TCNJ, D; Kate Sheridan, Jr., Colby, M; Nicole Tetreault, Sr., Hamilton, A Sarah Tilbor, Sr., Washington and Lee, GK

Second Team

Reid Berrien, Sr., Middlebury, M; Krissy Browning, Sr., Gettysburg, A; Catherine Calvert, Jr., Amherst, D; Lauren Carrier, Jr., St. Mary's College of MD, M; Jessica Chmielewski, Sr., Salisbury, M; Amy Craig, Jr., Amherst, A; Bobbi Dennison, Sr., Bowdoin, M Caitlin Erickson, Sr., Mary Washington, A; Becky Julian, Jr., Colby, A; Anita Martignetti, Sr., Babson, A; Linda McEvoy, Sr., Amherst, GK; Jen McGowan, Sr., Hamiton, M; Megan Moore, Sr., Gettysburg, M; Kelly Phillips, Sr., Salisbury, D; Ana Sokol, Jr., Dickinson , D Shannon Summers, Jr., Franklin and Marshall, M

Third Team

Ashley Bevington, Jr., Franklin and Marshall, M; Elizabeth Burns, Jr., Williams, D; Anna Collins, So., Babson, M; Courtney Dean, Sr., SUNY Brockport, D; Caroline Duke, So., Colby, D; Katherine Entwisle, Sr., Middlebury, A Jessilynn Fritz, So., SUNY Cortland, M; Caitlin Gregory, Sr., TCNJ, GK; Madeline Hoeg, Sr., Amherst, M; Kerri Messa, Sr., Union, M Mallory Newton, Sr., Colorado , A; Alyssa Pigott, So., Stevens Tech, A; Kelsi Robinson, Jr., Washington and Lee, A; Kate Robinson, So., Catholic , M; Megan Wallenhorst, Sr., Lycoming , A; CJ Yanofsky, Sr., Trinity, A Division III All-American Team

Goalie of the Year: Sarah Tilbor, Washington & Lee; Defender of the Year: Kat Michaels, Washington & Lee; Midfielder of the Year: Kate Sheridan, Colby; Attacker of the Year: Karen Doane, College of New Jersey; Coach of the Year: Patty Kloidt, Hamilton; Rookie of the Year: Alison Jaeger, College of New Jersey

First Team

Sue Ackerman, Salisbury; Robyn Bishop, Salisbury; Catherine Calvert, Amherst; Toni-Anne Cavallo, College of New Jersey; Katie Ceglarski, Gettysburg; Karen Doane, College of New Jersey; Callie Gates, Gettysburg; Kate Marek, Hamilton; Anita Martignetti, Babson; Sarah Meisenberg, Franklin & Marshall; Kat Michaels, Washington & Lee; Jen Pritchard, Franklin & Marshall; Katie Reuther, College of New Jersey; Kate Sheridan, Colby; Nicole Tetreault, Hamilton; Sarah Tilbor, Washington & Lee

Second Team

Reid Berrien, Middlebury; Kaillie Briscoe, Hamilton; Elizabeth Burns, Williams; Jessica Chmielewski, Salisbury; Amy Craig, Amherst; Courtney Dean, Brockport; Bobbi Dennison, Bowdoin; Jamie Enos, Colby; Madeline Hoeg, Amherst; Becky Julian, Colby; Linda McEvoy, Amherst; Jen McGowan, Hamilton; Keri Messa, Union; Megan Moore, Gettysburg; Kelly Phillips, Salisbury; CJ Yanofsky, Trinity

Third Team

Lauren Carrier, St. Mary's; Caroline Duke, Colby; Katherine Edwards, Middlebury; Caitlin Erickson, Mary Washington; Jessilynn  Fritz, Cortland; Tricia Kauffman, Villa Julie; Sarah Macary, Babson; Taryn Petrelli, Middlebury; Alyssa Pigott, Stevens; Kate Robinson, Catholic; Olivia Rotondi, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps; Anne Shippen, College of Notre Dame; Lindsey Specht, Farleigh Dickinson; Kristen Steenerson, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps; Shannon Summers, Franklin & Marshall; Megan Wallenhorst, Lycoming

Related Links: