Women's lacrosse eighth in final national poll

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: June 4, 2008
WATERVILLE, Maine --- The Colby College women's lacrosse team ended the season ranked eighth in NCAA Division III in the final Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association/Under Armour National Poll of the year.

The Mules were one of five New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) teams in the top 20. Middlebury, which Colby beat in a NESCAC semifinal game, finished sixth. Amherst (10th), Trinity (12th), and Tufts (19th) also were ranked.

In other news, Inside Lacrosse announced their All-American selections and Kate Sheridan (Hingham, Mass.), Jamie Enos (South Hamilton, Mass.), Becky Julian (South Windsor, Conn.), and Caroline Duke (Englewood, Colo.) were once again honored. Sheridan and Enos were both on the first team, while Julian and Duke each made the third team. The four had previously earned All-American honors from the IWLCA and womenslacrosse.com.

Colby won the NESCAC title for the first time in program history and reached the NCAA second round before losing to eventual national champion Hamilton College.

IWLCA/Under Armour Division III Final National Poll

1.      Hamilton                      21-1

2.      Franklin & Marshall      19-2

3.      Salisbury                      22-1

4.      College of New Jersey  17-2

5.      Union                            15-4

6.      Middlebury                    12-5

7.      Gettysburg                    17-4

8.      Colby                              13-6

9.      Washington & Lee          17-3

10.    Amherst                        15-4

11.    Babson                          16-3

12.    Trinity                            11-7

13.    Cortland                        14-6

14.    St. Mary's (Md.)              15-6

15.    Catholic                          17-5

16.    Dickinson                        12-6

17.    Rowan                            13-5

18.    William Smith                  13-4

19.    Tufts                                10-5

20.    Fairleigh Dickinson          16-3

Receiving votes (alphabetical order): Bowdoin, Brockport, Claremont McKenna, Stevens, Wesleyan

Related Links: