Donegan makes first cut of tryouts

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: June 8, 2009
Athletics Preview Photos

Claire Donegan

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College's Claire Donegan (Great Falls, Va.) is the only NCAA Division III player to make it past the first round of tryouts for the 2009-10 U.S. developmental team at the recent U.S. Lacrosse Women's Division National Tournament.

The event, held over Memorial Day weekend in Maryland, featured more than 150 players in the Stars & Stripes Division vying for spots for the U.S. team tryout. The second round of tryouts will be held August 1-2 at University of Maryland-Baltimore County. Donegan was one of 64 players selected for the next round.

Donegan, a strong defensive midfielder, had a fine first season with the Mules by scoring 17 goals and dishing 19 assists for 36 points. She was fifth on the team in scoring and was second to four-time All-American Kate Sheridan in assists. Donegan also helped out with 33 groundballs, 30 draw controls, and 13 caused turnovers.

Donegan helped Colby to a 16-2 record and a second straight New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) title. The Mules also made the NCAA tourney for the third time in four years.

A listing of players selected for the 2009-10 U.S. developmental team tryout follows:

Jillian Byers    Notre Dame
Rachel Culp   Virginia Tech
McKinley Curro     Boston University
Alexandra Emala        Virginia Tech
Elizabeth Falco    Hofstra
Grace Gaeng      Maryland
Whitaker Hagerman       Virginia
Jackie Lyons    Massachusetts
Jenna Martino      Saint Joseph's
Colleen McCaffrey Johns Hopkins
Kaitlyn Messinger  North Carolina
Shannon Smith     Northwestern

Kelly Berger        James Madison
Caroline Chesterman        Florida
Sarah Dalton     Boston University
Emily Dashiell Louisville
Claire Donegan     Colby
Christina Dove     Syracuse
Katrina Dowd    Northwestern
Lauren Dykstra      Lehigh
Cara Filippelli   Loyola
Alexandra Frank   Northwestern
Corrine Gandolfi    Hofstra
Julie Gardner    Virginia
Kristin Igoe    Boston College
Ashby Kaestner    Georgetown
Sarah Kuonen  North Carolina
Deirdre Lafferty  Cornell
Katie Lewis-LaMonica     Princeton
Nicole Musto   Drexel
Jamie Nesbitt     Stanford
Sarah Plumb     Dartmouth
Mallory Poole  C.W. Post
Erin Rawlick   Navy   
Jennifer Russell        North Carolina
Lauren Schmitt    Stanford
Lauren Schwarzmann      Johns Hopkins
Jaime Sellers      William and Mary

Bryana Borrelli  Hofstra
Alicia Burkhart  Oregon
Kristen Carr      North Carolina
Becky Clipp       Maryland
Corcoran Downey Boston University
Katy Fitzgerald        North Carolina
Tara Gardner      Loyola
Caroline Helmer   Cornell
Angela Hughes    Johns Hopkins
Alyssa Kildare     Johns Hopkins
Jenny Martin       Boston University
Marie McKenna  Princeton
Alexandra Mundy        Vanderbilt
Kelly Munroe  Boston University
Colleen Olsen  Dartmouth
Riley Perry    Massachusetts
Brittany Poist     Maryland
Brigid Strain   James Madison
Lacey Vigmostad    Northwestern
Ashley Wood Duquesne

Catherine Conway  Boston College
Rachel Klein      Boston University
Kendall McBrearty      Virginia
Erin Tochihara  Princeton
Julie Wadland  Dartmouth
Natalie Wills  Vanderbilt


Related Links: