Mack, Smith among winners of senior awards

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: May 4, 2012

WATERVILLE, Maine ---- Women's basketball player Rachael Mack (Augusta, Maine) and men's squash player Harry Smith (Locust Valley, N.Y.) each earned the Millett Award for contributing the most to Colby College athletics in their four years at Thursday's 24th Annual Senior Athletic Awards Presentation.
Women's lacrosse player Lane McVey (Bronxville, N.Y.), men's soccer player and alpine skier Eric Barthold (Lyme, N.H.), men's crew member Jill Howell (Saugus, Mass.), men's cross country and track and field athlete Justin Rouse (Eliot, Maine), alpine skier Brian Morgan (Haverhill, Mass.), and volleyball player Caitlin Burchill (Walpole, Mass.) also earned senior awards.
Junior sprinter Dom Kone (Bucksport, Maine) earned a Special Recognition Award for becoming the fifth varsity athlete at Colby to earn a national title after winning the 60-meter dash at the NCAA Men's Indoor Track and Field Championships.
Mack, one of the best players ever at Colby, was a part of turning the Colby women's basketball program around in her four years. She and her senior teammates were part of the best four years of women's basketball at Colby since the program was started. The Mules went 78-30 and made two trips to the NCAA Division III Tournament in Mack's four years, after going 31-66 in the four years before her arrival.
Mack finished in a tie for fifth on the all-time scoring list with 1,241 points, despite playing on teams that prided themselves on scoring balance. She also had 802 rebounds, shot 52 percent from the field, 42 percent from 3-point range, and 85 from the foul line. Her all-around game showed with 156 career assists, 125 steals, and 122 blocks while starting all 107 games in which she competed. This past season, Mack was one of only two players in the top 10 in the NESCAC in scoring, rebounding, field goal percentage, and 3-point field goal percentage. She earned post-season honors as All-NESCAC, All-Northeast Region, All-NEWBA, and Maine All-State.
Smith was the number one player and captain in two sports this year, leading the men's squash team and the golf team. He will rank among the greatest squash players in program history. Smith achieved a rare feat when he earned All-NESCAC honors for four straight years and earned All-NESCAC Sportsmanship honors four years in a row. He had a 78-42 career record against the top NCAA squash players in the country, earned two team MVP awards for most wins in a season, and went to the National Intercollegiate Singles Tournament all four years.
While squash was his top sport, Smith also was a strong leader and player for the golf team. His presence and leadership, along with his teammates, helped the Mules finish sixth in the NESCAC Fall Qualifier four years in a row. Colby finished 10th and last in the qualifier in the previous four years before Smith's arrival. Harry finished in the top 10 at the qualifier during his sophomore year and earned All-NESCAC honors.
McVey, a captain for the women's lacrosse team, earned The Patty Valavanis Award, given to a senior female athlete who has demonstrated qualities of academic and athletic excellence and personal leadership and sportsmanship. A Government major, she has been a production intern at Good Morning America in New York City and a web intern for Inside Edition. At Colby, she is the treasurer of the Student Government Association (SGA) and a layout editor for four years at The Colby Echo newspaper. She has also been SGA's Chair of the Finance Committee and was appointed to serve on the Athletics Advisory Committee. She has been on the NESCAC All-Academic Team the last two years and is part of Pi Sigma Alpha (National Political Science Honor Society).
On the field, McVey was Colby's Most Improved Player in 2010 and has helped the Mules to a 59-14 record, a NESCAC title, and three trips to the NCAA Division III Tournament (this year pending) in her four years. She has 10 goals and eight assists for 18 points this season and has 27 goals and 15 assists for 42 career points from her midfield position.
Barthold earned the first-ever Richard L. Whitmore, Jr. Award, presented to a senior male athlete who has demonstrated the qualities of outstanding academic and athletic excellence to Colby, which characterized Dick Whitmore's 40-year men's basketball coaching career.
Barthold is an English major who was on the men's soccer and alpine ski teams. However, his most important work as co-founder and acting president of Male Athletes Against Violence will hopefully continue long after his upcoming graduation. Despite breaking his foot twice, Eric continued to work hard and was the men's soccer team's leading scorer in 2011 and earned an invitation to play in the New England Senior All-Star Game. He was voted by his soccer teammates as the winner of the Sam Koch Award for spirit and dedication. Eric earned NESCAC All-Academic honors for both sports. He will return to Colby this fall to participate in the College's Ninth Semester Education Program.
Howell, who has a double major in Global Studies and Environmental Studies, earned the Marjorie Bither Award for academic ability, athletic ability, and leadership in athletics and on campus. She is the co-captain of the men's crew and is likely the only woman to ever be elected captain of a men's team at Colby. She is the coxswain of the men's varsity 8 boat, earning the captain honor by a vote of her teammates. The varsity 8 boat had a best-ever seventh-place finish at the 2011 Head of the Charles during the fall
Howell, who has earned rowing and NESCAC academic honors, was invited to present her work at Notre Dame on "The Face of Exploitation: The Mining Industry in Southern Ecuador" at the 2012 Human Development Conference.
Rouse was honored with the Donald Lake Award for outstanding athletic ability, leadership, and academic accomplishment. He competed for the men's track and field and cross country programs during his time at Colby. He is the Student Government Association's Co-President this year, was on the Goldfarb Center's student advisory board all four years, and served one term on the Goldfarb executive committee. On the track, he was the top Colby finisher in the 3,000 steeplechase at both the Maine State meet and the NESCAC Championships.
Burchill earned the Pamela Hoyt-Sanborn Award for contributions of sportsmanship and leadership throughout her tenure at Colby. She was the team's Honor Award winner the past two years for a player that epitomizes the ideal character and work ethic of a Colby volleyball player. A co-captain, Burchill earned NESCAC All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic honors three years in a row. She was a president this past year for the Student Athletic Advisory Committee (SAAC).
Burchill was strong on the volleyball court, finishing with 1,115 defensive digs and 656 kills in her career. She had 214 kills and 293 digs in the 2011 season.
Morgan, a two-year co-captain for the men's alpine ski team, was honored with the Norman White Award for inspirational leadership and sportsmanship. He shouldered family health issues late in his time at Colby and spent this past fall semester at home to emotionally and physically support his family. A two-time team MVP, Morgan had 24 top-20 finishes and earned trips to the NCAA Skiing Championships in 2011 and 2012.

Related Links:
Men's Soccer   |  
Golf   |  
Alpine Skiing   |  
Men's Indoor Track   |  
Men's Squash   |  
Men's Crew   |  
Volleyball   |  
Women's Basketball   |  
Women's Lacrosse   |