Mack, Vaughan earn All-NESCAC honors

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: February 29, 2012
Athletics Preview Photos

Jil Vaughan

WATERVILLE, Maine --- Colby College's Rachael Mack (Augusta, Maine) earned All-New England Small College Athletic Conference honors for a second straight year and teammate Jil Vaughan (Wareham) made the team for the first time after the league released the all-conference selections Wednesday.
Mack, a 6-foot-2 senior forward, made the first team this year after earning second team honors last season. Vaughan, who had just one career start before this year, was selected to the second team.
Mack finished tied for fifth in career scoring at Colby with 1,241 points. She also pulled down 802 rebounds and had 156 assists, 125 steals, and 122 blocked shots. Mack shot .51.7 percent from the field (468-for-905), 41.9 percent from 3-point range (36-for-86), and 85.4 percent from the foul line (269-for-315). Mack started all 107 games in which she played at Colby.
Mack finished sixth in both scoring (12.8) and rebounding (7.3) in the latest NESCAC statistics. She also ranked third in field goal percentage (49.6 percent), fourth in 3-point field goal percentage (41 percent), and ninth in blocked shots (1.04 per game, 27 total). Mack also shot 88.4 percent (38-for-43) from the foul line and would have the top percentage in the league, but she did not have the minimum number of made free throws to qualify.
Vaughan, a 6-3 senior forward, finished her career with 887 points, 630 rebounds, 110 assists, and 108 blocked shots. She shot 51.5 percent from the field in her four years.
Vaughan is first in the NESCAC and 13th in NCAA Division III in field goal percentage (56.2). She also was first in the conference in blocked shots per game (1.81), third in rebounding (8.6), and fifth in scoring (13.2).
Colby finished the season with a 19-7 overall record, while Mack and Vaughan helped the Mules to 78 victories over the past four years.
NESCAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team
Player of the Year: Caroline Stedman, Amherst; Defensive Player of the Year: Tiffany Kornegay, Tufts; Rookie of the Year: Megan Robertson; Coach of the Year: Carla Berube, Tufts
First Team: Rachael Mack, Colby, senior forward; Lem Atanga McCormick, Amherst, senior forward; Jill Greenberg, Williams, senior guard; Jill Henrikson, Bowdoin, senior guard; Caroline Stedman, Amherst, senior guard
Second Team: Jil Vaughan, Colby, senior forward; Tara Gabelman, Connecticut College, sophomore forward; Kate Barnosky, Tufts, senior forward; Tiffany Kornegay, Tufts, senior guard; Kim Fiorentino, Amherst, senior guard

Related Links: