Women's Indoor Track—2010-11 Season Overview

2009 Season Outlook

Head coach Deb Aitken will have a nice mix of veterans and newcomers on a sizable roster for the 2008-09 women's indoor track and field season.

Erin Beasley '09, Devan FitzPatrick '09, Brianna Kondrat '09, and Jen MacDowell '09 will all be captains. Beasley will runs sprints, FitzPatrick runs mid-distance and distance races along with MacDowell, and Kondtrat is a thrower.

Colby's distance medley relay team earned All-America honors for placing seventh at the NCAA Division III Championships last year, but three of the four runners graduated. Emma Linhard '11, who also went to the NCAA outdoor meet, returns in the mid-distance races.

Cassi Knight '10, Mandy Ivey '10, and Katrina Gravel '10 all run distance races and were key components of the women's cross country team.

2008 Season Outlook
The Colby women's indoor and outdoor track and field teams head into the 2008 season with 25 first-year athletes joining the roster to create one of the largest squads in recent years.

The 25 first-year athletes, a record for the women's track and field program, will help Colby and head coach Deb Aitken to cover every event this year. The Mules open the indoor season at the Southern Maine Invitational on January 19 and have meets go to March 15. The outdoor season starts up with a trip to Florida and the National Training Center Invitational on March 30.

All-American Anna King returns in the 5,000-meter run during the indoor season and will once again run the 3,000-meter steeplechase in the outdoor season. Liz Petit (mid distance), Brianna Kondrat (throws), Jessie Young (throws), and Erin Beasley (sprints) should also score points for the Mules. Colby will have scoring potential in the jumps and pole vault with first-year athletes Tory Gray, Alyssa Marquez, Jessica Mullaney, Jordan Schoonover, Danielle Sheppard, and Toni Tsvetenova.

King leads a strong group of distance and mid distance runners. Besides some help from first-year runners, Colby also returns Jen MacDowell, Hannah Taska, Mandy Ivey, Cassie Knight, Katrina Gravel, and Margo Derecktor as distance runners. Petit is joined in the mid distance events by Sharon Fuller, Lane Marder, Laura Pomponi, Heather MacDonald, and Amanda Burgess. First-year runners Emma Linhard and Erin Joyce are expected to contribute right away.

The sprints, led by Chantal Balesdent and Erin Beasley, will have more depth with sophomores Liz Russell and Hannah Holbrook, and first-years Devan Cahill, Anna Norris, Anna Sawch, Brittany Tschaen, and Toni Tsvetenova. Holbrook also will be in the hurdles along with Bethany Bartley, Abbie Frederick, Olivia Latanzi, and Jordan Schoonover.

The Mules will have a young group of vaulters and jumpers, but the potential is there to score points. Young, Frederick (pole vault), and Bartley (high jump) should continue to improve and will get help from first-years Gray (multi, pole vault, high jump), Marquez (pole vault, long jump), Mullaney (long jump, multi), Schoonover (triple jump, long jump), Sheppard (high jump, triple jump), and Tsvetenova (long jump, high jump).

Kondrat, Young, Caroline Voyles, and Maria Ramrath are veterans in the throws. Monica Albu, Alexandra Desaulniers, Gray (javelin), and Kendyl Sullivan will add depth to the event group.

Bartley, Gray, Lindsay, and Mullaney will all be multi event athletes for Aitken.