Seniors to lead women's swimming and diving team

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: November 16, 2012

WATERVILLE, Maine --- With nine seniors and eight first-years on the roster, the Colby College women's swimming and diving team will have a nice mix of veterans and newcomers as the 2012-13 season opens Saturday at 2 p.m. at Amherst College.

Senior co-captains Rosie Wennberg (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) and Heather Cronin (Foxborough, Mass.) will lead the team for head coach Tom Burton. Wennberg, who can also race in the sprint freestyle races, was 13th in the 50 butterfly and 15th in the 100 butterfly at the NESCAC meet last season. Cronin will be a scorer in the distance freestyle races.

Kathryn Lee (Wilmette, Ill.) was 14th in the 100 butterfly at the league meet and helped the 400 relay team take 10th. She also will compete in the individual medley races. Meanwhile, Kayleigh Monahan had three top-24 finishes in the league meet in the backstroke races -- including a 16th in the 50 backstroke.

Seniors Sarah Nalven (Brookline, Mass.) and Carly Rushford (Potomac, Md.) will both compete in the backstroke races, Jozie Bazemore (Wayland, Mass.) goes in the breaststroke and individual medley, Leah Walpuck (Bethesda, Md.) swims in the butterfly and individual medley, and Kelsey Cromie (Morristown, N.J.) is in the spring freestyle events.

Junior diver Martha Mesna (Edina, Minn.) took 17th with a season-best score in the 1-meter competition at the NESCAC meet. Morgan Monz (North Haven, Conn.), Sarah Leathe (Eliot, Maine), and Tasha Rivard (Newbury, Mass.) also will dive for the Mules.

Juniors Kayla Lewkowicz (Hopkinton, Mass.), Shannon Kooser (River Forest, Ill.), Kimberly Johnson (Wilmette, Ill.), and Annie Bacher (Santa Cruz, Calif.) all will swim in freestyle races. 

Sophomores Sarah Kletzer (Santa Cruz, Calif.) and Olivia Avidan (Harrison, N.Y.) will both compete in the middle distance freestyle races. Annie Friedrich (Ham Lake, Minn.) is a distance swimmer and can swim the individual medley, and fellow sophomore Emmie Lai (Chatham, N.J.) is a butterfly and backstroke swimmer.

The first-year swimmers include: Danielle Anderson (Newton, Mass.), PJ Dupre (Babylon, N.Y.), Torrie Edwards (Tampa, Fla.), Morganne Hodsdon (Rye Beach, N.H.), Maddie Joern (Edina, Minn.), Rose Nelson (Salt Lake City, Utah), Katie Southworth (Darien, Conn.), and Shuana Yuan (Brookline, Mass.).