Five women's track athletes earn All-NESCAC honors

Contact: William Sodoma
Date: May 2, 2012

WATERVILLE, Maine ---- Brittany Reardon (Scituate, Mass.), Annabelle Hicks (Coventry, Conn.), Leigh Fryxell (Simsbury, Conn.), Brittney Bell (Poland, Maine), and Frances Onyilagha (Little Rock, Ark.) each earned all-conference women's track and field honors by the New England Small College Athletic Conference on Wednesday.
The top three finishers in each event during the championship meet earn All-NESCAC honors.
Colby's 400-meter relay team of Bell, Reardon, Onyilagha, and Hicks combined to win the event for the second straight year with a time of 49.58. The foursome won last year in 48.92. Bell is a junior and the other three women are sophomores.
Reardon, the NESCAC Most Outstanding Rookie Performer last year, finished in second place in the 100 hurdles with a time of 14.60 to just trail Middlebury's Mia Martinez (14.53). Martinez, a senior, also won the event last year in 14.89 and Reardon was runner-up in 15.18. The Colby sophomore also finished in fourth place in the pole vault (11-5.75).
Hicks just missed winning the 100 dash title with a clocking of 12.34 for second place after having the best time of the day with a 12.15 (wind aided) in the prelims. Tufts first-year Christina Harvey edged Hicks in the championship final with a 12.32. Hicks finished in third place at last year's NESCAC meet with a 12.95. She added a seventh in the long jump (17-0) and a 10th in the triple jump (34-1.5).
Fryxell, battling high winds, finished in third place in the javelin throw (113-10). She took second place with a toss of 121-10 a year ago for a throw that would have won this year's competition.

Related Links: