Ch342


02/01/2017: Wednesday

Handin homework:
General Chemistry Test, : Due date 02/10/2017.

Homework to hand in: Handin 1, : Due date 02/03/2017.
Reading: Shattuck- Foundations of Quantum Mechanics Ch. 23.1-23.3
Handin due

02/03/2017: Friday

Read for Monday lab:
T1 Determination of beta-ionone.
Read for Monday lab: Ch29: Magnetic Resonance Sections: 1,3,5 (skip General Pattern 5)

Quantum Computers, are getting more powerful

02/01/2017: Wednesday

Handin due

02/06/2017: Monday

NMR periodic table,
Homework to hand in: Handin 2, Spectral Deconvolution Excel Example    Spectral Deconvolution: Bromothymol Blue : Due date 02/10/2017.

Check out the photos Erwin Schrodinger and Werner Heisenberg,

Reading: Claridge 2.1-2.5.2
Reading: Shattuck-Ch. 23.4-23.6
Homework (not to hand in): Shattuck-Ch. 23: 1,7,11,20,21,23
An applet to calculate Fourier transforms, (by Jeff Clymer)

02/07/2017: Tuesday


02/08/2017: Wednesday

Homework (not to hand in): Ch. 23: 26-31,33,34,37,42,45

02/10/2017: Friday

Print off and bring to lab on Monday:
MOE Exercises, sections: Checklist for Molecular Mechanics Calculations and Chapts 9 & 10: Dynamics in Small Peptides
Background reading for lab on NMR: Claridge 2.1-2.5.2, 5.1-5.4
Possible terpines for the NMR experiment: terpines,
Scanning tunneling microscopy: Quantum Electron Corrals,

02/15/2017: Wednesday

Homework to hand in:
Handin 3, : Due date 02/17/2017.


02/17/2017: Friday

Handin due

02/20/2017: Monday

Homework to hand in:
Handin 4, : Due date 02/24/2017.

Reading: for information on Fourier Transforms read Ch. 27.3 and Ch. 29.4
Reading: Ch. 23.7-23.9 Postulates of Quantum Mechanics

02/22/2017: Wednesday

Reading: Ch. 24.1-24.6, 24.8, 24.9
Question and Answer session, Wednesday night 7:00 pm Keyes 103.

02/24/2017: Friday

Note the three practice tests through the
Sample Exams, link on the course home page. The following problems will not be covered on this test this year: 2004: not 2,3,4,7,10 and 2012: not 1,5,12. The answers are on reserve in the Science library.
Reading for Monday Lab: NOESY, Spectroscopy of beta-ionone, and Claridge: 8.1-8.3, 5.1-5.2
Homework (not to hand in) Ch. 23: 48-50 ; Ch. 24: 2,3,6,7,9,12,14,16,18,19,20,21(next test),23
The Quantum Mechanics Formula Sheet, will be available at the test.

02/27/2017: Monday

Handin 5, Note the Wednesday due date so that I can grade and hand back before the test: : Due date 03/01/2017.


03/01/2017: Wednesday

Question and answer session: Wednesday 7:00 pm Keyes 103

03/03/2017: Friday

Test 1: Chapters 23-24.5; Ch. 27.3 Fourier Transforms; Chapter 29 Magnetic Resonance Sect. 29.1 pp. 379-390,395-396; Sect. 29.2-29.5 (skip General Pattern 11)

03/06/2017: Monday

Reading: Ch. 25.1-25.4 Atomic Structure
Homework to hand in:
Handin 6, : Due date 03/10/2017.


03/08/2017: Wednesday

Atomic orbital depictions:
Orbitron Gallery,
3dz2 atomic orbital visualization isosurface, 3D-slice, volume,

03/10/2017: Friday

Reading: Ch.25.5, 25.6, 25.8, 25.9 (skip magnetic interactions)
Homework (not to hand in): Ch. 25 (Atoms):5,6,9,10,12,14,17,20,21,23,25,27,28,29,32,36
Homework to hand in:
Handin 7, but skip Problem 3 : Due date 03/17/2017.


03/13/2017: Monday

Lab lecture meeting at 3:00 pm

03/15/2017: Wednesday

Reading: Ch. 26.1-26.4 Bonding

03/17/2017: Friday

Homework (not to hand in): Ch. 25 (Atoms):5,7,9,10,12,14,17,20,21,23,25,27,28,30,31,35

03/27/2017: Monday

Reading Ch. 26.3, 26.4, and 26.6 (in preparation for lecture and lab)
Lab reading: MOPAC Instructions for
Diatomics, and Molecular Orbitals for Ozone, (Read the Molecular Orbitals for Ozone completely. The lab report is due at the end of the lab, so you need to be ready to do the data analysis in lab).
Command script for running MOPAC on an OSX system OSX command script,
Bring your laptop to lab if you want to run MOPAC on your own computer
Hand in Homework: Handin 7 Problem 3, Handin 8, : Due date 03/31/2017.


03/29/2017: Wednesday

Review/Workshop on Angular Momentum and Term Symbols (Review Ch 25.4 and 25.6 to prepare) Keyes 102 8:00 p.m.
Homework (not to hand in): Ch26: 2,4,6,7,9,12,13,15,21,23,24,26 (from the revised on-line
pdf, )

03/31/2017: Friday

Terpine 1H and 13C resonance assignments Due Today (notice the penalty for late submissions)
Lab for Monday:
Powder X-ray Diffraction, (read Ch. 34.1-34.2 for the theory)(report due at end of the afternoon)
Homework to handin: Handin 9, (do the one molecule/ion that was assigned to you in class) (Note the Wednesday due date, so I can get the homework handed back before the test on Friday) : Due date 04/05/2017.

Reading: Ch. 26.7-26.9

04/05/2017: Wednesday

Question and Answer session, Keyes 103, 8:00 pm
Reading: Ch 27.1-27.4 Rotational And Vibrational Spectroscopy
Don"t forget to review the problems on the sample tests for test 1 that are on atomic structure: Sample test 1 from 2004: 2,3,4,7,and 10; and Sample test 1 from 2012: 1,5 (Problem 12 not covered this year)
Interstellar Molecules,
Chirped pulse Fourier transform microwave spectroscopy and Radical reaction dynamics,
Brooks Pate CP-FTMW spectroscopy,

04/07/2017: Friday

Test: 24.6, 24.8, 25.1-25.6 up to p.145, 25.8, 26.1-26.8 up to p.219, 26.9(good review) [P.M. class meeting]
Reading: Ch. 27.1-4 Rotational and Vibrational Spectroscopy
Reading for Single Crystal Lab:
Chapter 34.3-34.5, Reading Due Date: 04/10/2017

04/10/2017: Monday

Homework to hand in:
Handin 10, : Due date 04/14/2017.


04/14/2017: Friday

Lab for Monday: Rotation-Vibration Spectrum of
HCl and DCl, Reading Due: 04/17/2017
Homework to hand in: Handin 11, Due Friday 04/21/2017,

04/17/2017: Monday

Reading: Ch. 27.5-7, 27.10 Vibrational Spectroscopy (skip Ch. 27.8-9)

04/19/2017: Wednesday

Reeading: Ch. 28.1-5, 28.9 Electronic Spectroscopy (skip Ch. 28.6-8)
Homework (not to hand in): Ch. 26: 7,8,9,10,11,16,21,22,24,29,31,32,33,45 (Rotation Vibration Spectroscopy)

04/21/2017: Friday

Homework to hand in:
Handin 12, : Due date 05/01/2017.


05/01/2017: Monday

Handin due

Legend:
Homework to hand in, Homework to do, but not hand in.