Ch342


02/04/2002: Monday

Atkins 11.1-2

02/13/2002: Wednesday

Atkins 11.1-4, 12.1-2

02/15/2002: Friday

Atkins_Ch11 E:6a; 8a; 9a; 14a; 16a; 17a; P:5; 8; 10; 13; 15; 19

02/20/2002: Wednesday

Atkins Chapt 11.5-6; Chapt 12.4-5
Atkins_Ch11 P:19; Ch18 E:5a; 8a; 9a; 10a; Ch12 E:1; 5; P:1; 6; 7

02/25/2002: Monday


02/27/2002: Wednesday

Wilson Group Atomic Theory, atomic surface (dz2), atomic orbital slices (dz2),
atomic volumes (dz2),
Atkins_Ch12 E:8; 16; 17; P:3; 5; 12; 14; 15; 20; Ch13 E:1a; 2a; 3a(do graphically); 7a; 12a; 12b

03/01/2002: Friday

Atkins Ch 13.1-2
Atkins_Ch13 P:3; 9; 10; 14
Handin Homework 4 do # 3 only, Handin Homework 5 do both : Due date 03/06/2002.


03/06/2002: Wednesday

Handin due

03/11/2002: Monday

Atkins 21.1-4 and Shoemaker, Garland, and Steinfeld, and Nibler, Experiment 47, Determination of Crystal Structure by X-ray Diffraction (on reserve in library)
Atkins Ch 13.4-8
Handin due

03/13/2002: Wednesday

X-Ray Diffraction: Buerger Precession Photograph, Expt. 40, Read pp 725-733, 738-742, 759-766 in Sime, On reserve in Science Library and two copies in the P/Q Lab : Due date 03/18/2002.

Atkins_Ch13 E:14a; 15a
Handin 6: Do problem 1 only for Friday : Due date 03/15/2002.

Handin due

03/15/2002: Friday

Handin due

03/18/2002: Monday

2D-reciprocal lattice, Reciprocal Lattice Calculator, Reciprocal Lattice Tutorial,
Electron Density Server (Try 1A30), Click on Real Space Fit and then a histogram bar for chain C (HIV substrate)
Handin due

03/20/2002: Wednesday

Electrostatic potential maps,
Atkins 14.1-2,14.4-7
Atkins 21.5
Atkins_Ch14 E:8b; 9a; P:2; 4; 7; 9; 12; 14
Handin due

04/01/2002: Monday

Atkins"s CH 14.3, 14.8

04/05/2002: Friday

Atkins_Ch14 E:3a; 3b; 5a; 6b; 10a; 12b; P: 13(use MOPAC or Spartan at 90 and 120 deg)
Atkin"s 14.9
Handin due

04/14/2002: Sunday

Review Session Sunday, 8:00

04/16/2002: Tuesday

Molecular Structure Calculations Answers,

04/17/2002: Wednesday

Normal Mode Analysis, Mathematical Details
Atkins CH 16.1-6, CH 16.9-12
Atkins_Ch16 E:5a; 8a; 11a; 13a; 14a; 19a; 20a; 22a; P:4; 6; 11

04/19/2002: Friday

ComSpec3D, Online normal mode calculations and animation
Handin due

04/26/2002: Friday

Handin 10 is on the Web : Due date 05/03/2002.

Atkins_Ch16 E:15a; 23a; 25a; Ch17 E:2b; 4a; 10a; P:1; 2; 7; 8; 9; 11; 12; 18; 20
Atkins CH 16.13-16; CH 17.1-4, 17.8-10 (read 17.5-7 for fun)
Handin due

04/29/2002: Monday

Atkins Ch 19.1-3

05/03/2002: Friday

Handin due

05/06/2002: Monday

Atkin"s Ch 19.4-7, Ch 20.1-3, 20.6-7
Atkins_Ch19 E:2a; 4a; 6a; 7b; 11a; P:5; 7; 8; 9; 11; 12; Ch20 E:1a; 3a; 4a(a,b,c)

05/10/2002: Friday

Atkins CH 27.4-6a;27.7-9
Atkins_Ch20 E:9b; 10a; 15a; P:8; Ch27 E:10a; 11a; 14a; P:10; 12
Equilibrium from structure, practice predictions with this applet

05/15/2002: Wednesday

Revised Takehome, : will be a little more helpful (than original) : Due date 05/18/2002.


05/16/2002: Thursday

Review session 7:30

05/17/2002: Friday

Review session 7:30

05/18/2002: Saturday

Spreadsheet due