Civic Engagement


The broad charge of the Committee on Civic and Community Engagement (CCCE) is to re-examine our understanding of and practices in civic engagement and design a distinctive program for Colby College.  Some of the important questions that relate to this charge include: How can we push our civic engagement efforts beyond ideals of altruism to meet community needs with more awareness of structural connections between social groups? How do we most productively leverage community involvement efforts to provide opportunities to apply learned concepts to active public work?  How do we define and value community-based research and learning that educates students and strengthens community? As we work to answer these questions, the CCCE will be tasked with:

We invite you to contact any member of the CCCE with comments or questions you have about this effort to envision a distinctive approach to civic and community engagement at Colby.

Committee Members


Karlene Burrell-McRae ’94, Dean of the College
Michael Donihue ’79, Professor of Economics


Adam Howard, Professor of Education
Winifred Tate, Associate Professor of Anthropology
Carleen Mandolfo, Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Annie Kloppenberg, Associate Professor of Theater and Dance
Tariq Ahmad, Assistant Professor of Biology
Denise Bruesewitz, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies


Arunika Bhatia ‘19
Marlen Guerrero ‘18
Chandler Smith ‘18
Reggie Huang ‘19
Sarah Taft ‘18


Alice Elliott, Associate Director
Lori Morin, CCAK Coordinator
Kurt Nelson, Dean of Religious and Spiritual Life
Brian Clark, Vice President of Planning
Miriam Valle-Mancilla ’16, Assistant for Access and Outreach
Paul Berkner, Medical Director
Beth Christopher, Executive Assistant

Ex Officio

Betty Sasaki, Interim Associate Dean of Diversity, Inclusion and Equity, 2016-; Associate Professor of Spanish
Margaret McFadden, Professor of American Studies; Associate Provost and Dean of Faculty, 2016-