The Goldfarb Center honored five individuals for their philanthropic and volunteer work on April 6 at the Maine Philanthropy Awards, an event begun in 2008 by Colby students Stefanie Solar ’11 and her brother Brian Solar ’08. The purpose of the event is to recognize and celebrate students and community members who have gone above and beyond in their volunteer efforts and their extraordinary contributions to improve the lives of others. ┬áThis year’s winners included: Colby Volunteer Center co-directors Julia Bruss ’11 and John Perkins ’11 in the Colby Student category; Peter Garrett, John Koons, and Howard Lake in the Central Maine category, and Donald Sussman in the state category. ┬áStefanie Solar was awarded a special citation honoring her efforts in establishing and supporting the awards program.